Hello there! We are conducting a survey to better understand the user experience in making a first edit. If you have ever made an edit on Gamepedia, please fill out the survey. Thank you!

Equip

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Equip
(Equip [quality] creature)
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Mirrodin
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text Equip [cost] ([Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.)
Equip [quality] creature [cost] ([Cost]: Attach this permanent to target [quality] creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.)
Statistics 245 cards
{W} 0.4% {W/U} 0.4% {U/B} 0.4% {B/R} 0.4% {R/G} 0.4% {G/W} 0.4% {M} 0.4% {artifact symbol} 97.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Equip"

Equip is a keyword ability found on artifacts with the subtype "Equipment". By paying the equip cost, you can attach the artifact to a creature, who is referred to in the text as the "equipped creature".

Description[edit | edit source]

Equipping can only be activated as a sorcery. When an equipped creature leaves the battlefield, unlike Auras, the equipment remains on the battlefield.

The first cards with equip appeared in Mirrodin. It was so flavorful and so popular, that it went evergreen immediately. Ninth Edition was the first core set to feature the keyword.[1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Equip
A keyword ability that lets a player attach an Equipment to a creature they control. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.6, “Equip.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

  • 702.6. Equip
    • 702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    • 702.6b For more information about Equipment, see rule 301, “Artifacts.”
    • 702.6c “Equip [quality] creature” is a variant of the equip ability. “Equip [quality] [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target [quality] creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.” This ability doesn’t restrict what the Equipment may be attached to.
    • 702.6d An “equip [quality] creature” ability is an equip ability, and an “equip [quality] creature” cost is an equip cost. Any effect that modifies how or whether a player may activate an equip ability of an object affects “equip [quality] creature” abilities of that object. Any effect that increases or reduces an equip cost will increase or reduce a “equip [quality] creature” cost.
    • 702.6e If a permanent has multiple equip abilities, any of its equip abilities may be activated.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Whispersilk Cloak {3}
Artifact — Equipment
Equipped creature can't be blocked and has shroud. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)
Equip {2}

Example 2

Blackblade Reforged {2}
Legendary Artifact — Equipment
Equipped creature gets +1/+1 for each land you control.
Equip legendary creature {3}
Equip {7}

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.