Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Upgrade

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Upgrade
Keyword Action
Introduced Mystery Booster
Last Used Mystery Booster
Reminder Text Upgrade (This creature enters the battlefield covering another artifact you control. If it can’t, exile it. Ignore the artifact it’s covering. Anywhere this card goes, cards underneath it also go. It has haste.)
Statistics 1 card
{artifact symbol} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Upgrade"

Upgrade is a keyword action that can appear on artifact creatures. A card with Upgrade improves other artifacts on the battlefield. So far, the mechanic only appeared on a test card in the Mystery Booster set.

Description[edit | edit source]

An artifact creature with Upgrade moves to the battlefield covering another artifact that player controls. If it can’t, is is exiled. The covered artifact is further ignored. Anywhere the card with Upgrade goes, cards underneath it also go. It has haste.[1]

Example[edit | edit source]

Example

Weaponized Scrap {4}
Artifact Creature — Construct
6/6
Upgrade (This creature enters the battlefield covering another artifact you control. If it can’t, exile it. Ignore the artifact it’s covering. Anywhere this card goes, cards underneath it also go. It has haste).

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The card with upgrade moves to the battlefield, but it doesn't enter the battlefield. Instead, it overlays an artifact you control. That artifact becomes represented by the new card — if it was tapped, it's still tapped; if it had counters on it, it still has those counters; if it was attacking, it's still attacking; and so on.
  • Enters-the-battlefield triggers won't trigger when an artifact with upgrade overlays another artifact.
  • If you can't choose an artifact you control while applying a permanent's upgrade replacement effect, it doesn't move to or enter the battlefield at all and instead moves to exile.
  • An artifact can be upgraded more than once.
  • If the upgraded object moves to the top or bottom of its owner's library, that player chooses the relative order for its component cards without revealing that order.
  • If a player's commander is upgraded, the resulting creature is still their commander. If it leaves the battlefield, the commander can be put into the command zone instead, and the other cards move to the expected zone.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Eli Shiffrin (November 11, 2019). "Mystery Booster Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.