Unleash

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Unleash
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Static (2nd ability)
Introduced Return to Ravnica
Last Used Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text Unleash (You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Storm Scale 4[1]
Statistics 13 cards
{B} 30.8% {R} 30.8% {B/R} 38.5%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Unleash"

Unleash is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica as the mechanic for the Rakdos guild.[2] The reminder text for Unleash reads "You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.".

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (War of the Spark (May 3, 2019))

  • 702.97. Unleash
    • 702.97a Unleash is a keyword that represents two static abilities. “Unleash” means “You may have this permanent enter the battlefield with an additional +1/+1 counter on it” and “This permanent can’t block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.”

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (War of the Spark (May 3, 2019))

Unleash
A keyword ability that allows a creature to enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it and stops it from blocking if it has a +1/+1 counter on it. See rule 702.97, “Unleash.”

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Grim Roustabout {1}{B}
Creature — Skeleton Warrior
1/1
Unleash (You may have this creature enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it. It can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it.)
{1}{B}: Regenerate Grim Roustabout

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You make the choice to have the creature with unleash enter the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter or not as it’s entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late for a player to respond to the creature spell by trying to counter it, for example.
  • The unleash ability applies no matter where the creature is entering the battlefield from.
  • A creature with unleash can’t block if it has any +1/+1 counter on it, not just one put on it by the unleash ability.
  • Putting a +1/+1 counter on a creature with unleash that’s already blocking won’t remove it from combat. It will continue to block.

Silver-border[edit | edit source]

One variant of Garbage Elemental has unleash.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (May 2, 2016). "Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Billy Moreno (December 14, 2012). "Developing, UNLEASHED". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.