|Last Used||Avacyn Restored|
|Reminder Text||Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it.)|
16.7% 38.9% 22.2% 22.2%
Description[edit | edit source]
Undying's function is similar to persist, a keyword ability from the Shadowmoor block; if a permanent with undying is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, it returns to the battlefield under its owner's control. However, unlike persist, a creature with undying returns to the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it (rather than a -1/-1 counter) unless it already had one or more of those counters on it when it died.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- All cards printed with undying are creatures. If a creature with undying stops being a creature (for example, an artifact creature with undying becomes a noncreature artifact due to Neurok Transmuter's second ability), undying will still trigger.
- Likewise, if a noncreature permanent becomes a creature, gains undying, and is put into a graveyard, the undying ability will still trigger even though that permanent won't be a creature when it returns to the battlefield.
- Multiple instances of undying trigger separately, but are effectively redundant as only the first instance to resolve will have any effect.
- An object returned to the battlefield with the undying ability is a new object with no memory of its previous existence. It has "summoning sickness".
- Tokens can gain undying, and the ability will trigger if a token is put into a graveyard. However, like all tokens, it can't return to the battlefield and will cease to exist as a state-based action before the ability would go on the stack.
- Undying relies on the last known information about the permanent just before it was put into a graveyard. If that permanent had a +1/+1 counter on it, then receives enough -1/-1 counters for it to be put into a graveyard due to having 0 toughness or lethal damage marked on it, it won't return to the battlefield despite the state-based action of +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters "cancelling each other out". As the permanent last existed on the battlefield, it had a +1/+1 counter on it, so undying will not trigger.
Example[edit | edit source]
Spells that grants Undying[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (January 16, 2012). "Dancing in the Dark Ascension, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Zac Hill (February 24, 2012). "(Un)Die Another Day". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Doug Beyer (February 22, 2012). "The Horror of Breaking the Rules". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
[edit | edit source]
- Wizards of the Coast (January 19, 2012). "Frequently Asked Questions". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.