Triple strike

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Triple strike
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Unstable
Last Used Unstable
Reminder Text Triple strike (This creature deals first-strike, regular, and last-strike combat damage.)
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Triple strike"

Triple strike is a static ability featured in Unstable.[1][2]

Description

Triple strike allows a creature to deal combat damage during both the First strike, the normal Combat Damage Step and the Last strike.

History

The idea for triple strike was discussed by R&D prior to its release in Unstable. Mark Rosewater tried to put Triple Strike into Future Sight on a future-shifted card and was stopped by the Magic rules Manager at the time, Mark Gottlieb, due to rule rewriting issues.[3][4][5]

Even after its release in Unstable, Mark Rosewater believes it is unlikely that Triple strike (and Last strike) will get into black border.[6][7]

Example

Example

Three-Headed Goblin {3}{R}{R}
Creature - Goblin Mutant
3/3
Triple strike (This creature deals first-strike, regular, and last-strike combat damage.)

References