Difference between revisions of "Tribute"

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
m (clean up)
(Added bold rule numbers for consistency with other rule pages)
Line 9: Line 9:
 
'''Tribute''' is a [[static ability]] introduced in ''[[Born of the Gods]]''.<ref>{{DailyRef|mtg/daily/mm/283|''Born'' Legacy|[[Mark Rosewater]]|January 20, 2014}}</ref> It gives [[opponent]]s an unfortunate choice: have the creature grow in size, or allow a powerful [[CIP|enters-the-battlefield]] ability to [[trigger]].
 
'''Tribute''' is a [[static ability]] introduced in ''[[Born of the Gods]]''.<ref>{{DailyRef|mtg/daily/mm/283|''Born'' Legacy|[[Mark Rosewater]]|January 20, 2014}}</ref> It gives [[opponent]]s an unfortunate choice: have the creature grow in size, or allow a powerful [[CIP|enters-the-battlefield]] ability to [[trigger]].
   
{{CR|Khans of Tarkir|*702.103. Tribute
+
{{CR|Khans of Tarkir|*'''702.103.''' Tribute
**702.103a Tribute is a static ability that functions as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. "Tribute N" means "As this creature enters the battlefield, choose an opponent. That player may have this creature enter the battlefield with an additional N +1/+1 counters on it."
+
**'''702.103a''' Tribute is a static ability that functions as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. "Tribute N" means "As this creature enters the battlefield, choose an opponent. That player may have this creature enter the battlefield with an additional N +1/+1 counters on it."
**702.103b Objects with tribute have triggered abilities that check "if tribute wasn’t paid." This condition is true if the opponent chosen as a result of the tribute ability didn’t have the creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters as specified by the creature’s tribute ability.
+
**'''702.103b''' Objects with tribute have triggered abilities that check "if tribute wasn’t paid." This condition is true if the opponent chosen as a result of the tribute ability didn’t have the creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters as specified by the creature’s tribute ability.
 
}}
 
}}
   

Revision as of 02:05, 11 January 2015

Tribute
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Born of the Gods
Last Used Born of the Gods
Reminder Text Tribute (Tribute N. As this creature enters the battlefield, choose an opponent. That player may have this creature enter the battlefield with an additional N +1/+1 counters on it.)
Statistics 11 cards
{R}37% {G}27% {W}9% {B}9% {U}9%
Multicolor 9%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Tribute"

Tribute is a static ability introduced in Born of the Gods.[1] It gives opponents an unfortunate choice: have the creature grow in size, or allow a powerful enters-the-battlefield ability to trigger.

Lua error in Module:CR at line 549: Unknown error, multiple lookups .

Rulings

  • If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won’t enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.
  • The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
  • If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
  • Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
  • The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.

Example


References

  1. Mark Rosewater (January 20, 2014). "Born Legacy". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.