Treasure

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
For the unpublished mechanic, see Hideaway#Trivia.
Treasure artifact token 1.png

Treasure is an artifact subtype introduced in the Ixalan block.[1] It appears exclusively on tokens.[2][3][4]

Description[edit | edit source]

Like artifact tokens named Gold previously, these Treasure artifact tokens have the ability to be sacrificed for mana.[5] Unlike Gold, these artifact tokens must also be tapped.[6] Each Treasure token has "{T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool."

History[edit | edit source]

Gold tokens had been considered for the Ixalan block but proved problematic with the improvise mechanic from Aether Revolt in the Standard environment, so R&D had to add a tap and change the token’s name.[7][8]

There are four versions of the printed Treasure token in the Ixalan block, each with art of a chest that contains valuables from one of the four factions.[9]

Treasure tokens reappeared in Ravnica Allegiance (Smothering Tithe), and are now considered deciduous.[10]

Trivia[edit | edit source]

Treasure tokens[edit | edit source]

Token Color Type P/T Additional Rules Source Printings
Treasure Colorless Artifact — Treasure {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Gallery[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]