Transmute

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Transmute
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Ravnica: City of Guilds
Last Used Future Sight
Reminder Text Transmute [cost] ([cost], Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)
Storm Scale 9[1]
Statistics 14 cards
{U} 35.7% {B} 35.7% {U/B} 21.4% {land symbol} 7.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Transmute"

Transmute is the keyword ability of cards in Ravnica block aligned with the Dimir guild.[2] It works by allowing a player to pay the transmute cost of a given card, discarding the card, then searching their library for a card with the same converted mana cost as the discarded card. It appears only on Black and Blue cards.

Unlikely to return[edit | edit source]

R&D have soured on Tutoring mechanics as they make games play out too similarly. Individual tutors are considered to be fine, but they don’t currently plan to do whole mechanics like Transmute, anymore.[3]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

Transmute
A keyword ability that lets a player search their library for a replacement card. See rule 702.52, “Transmute.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 702.52. Transmute
    • 702.52a Transmute is an activated ability that functions only while the card with transmute is in a player’s hand. “Transmute [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as the discarded card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    • 702.52b Although the transmute ability can be activated only if the card is in a player’s hand, it continues to exist while the object is on the battlefield and in all other zones. Therefore objects with transmute will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated abilities.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • If you transmute a card with mana cost {U}{U}, for example, you can search for any card in your library with converted mana cost 2. It doesn't matter what type or colors that card is.
  • You don't need to have another card with the same converted mana cost in your library to activate the transmute ability, and you don't need to find a card even if there is one.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Muddle the Mixture {U}{U}
Instant
Counter target instant or sorcery spell.
Transmute {1}{U}{U} ({1}{U}{U}, Discard this card: Search your library for a card with the same converted mana cost as this card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library. Transmute only as a sorcery.)

References[edit | edit source]