In the next few weeks, your wiki will be migrated to a Fandom.com domain. Learn more here.
|Last Used||Core Set 2019|
|Reminder Text||No official reminder text|
11.3% 13.2% 10.4% 19.8% 23.6% 0.9% 2.8% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 12.3% 0.9%
Description[edit | edit source]
Each double-faced card has a front face. This face is the default; double-faced permanents start on the battlefield with this face upwards. If an ability instructs you to transform the permanent, you turn it over so its other face is up. Whichever face is up at the time tells you what that permanent is and what it can do.
History[edit | edit source]
Dark Ascension introduced some different transforming cards; the first transforming artifacts, the first creature that returned from death transformed, and the first creature that transforms into an aura. Magic Origins has five legendary creatures who are exiled and then returned transformed (into planeswalkers) from the exile zone. Shadows over Innistrad and Eldritch Moon saw a sorcery that transforms from the graveyard into a creature, an Aura that returns from the graveyard that transforms into a creature, and an artifact that transforms upon death from a creature to an equipment. Ixalan block had all artifacts or enchantments that transformed into lands. Core Set 2019 has another creature-into-planeswalker flip card and follows the Magic Origins format.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- To turn a double-faced card so its other face is up. See rule 701.28, “Transform.”
- 701.28. Transform
- 701.28a To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by transforming double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, “Double-Faced Cards.”)
- 701.28b Although transforming a permanent uses the same physical action as turning a permanent face up or face down, they are different game actions. Abilities that trigger when a permanent is turned face down won’t trigger when that permanent transforms, and so on.
- 701.28c If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn’t represented by a transforming double-faced card, nothing happens.
- 701.28d If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent, and the face that permanent would transform into is represented by an instant or sorcery card face, nothing happens.
- 701.28e Some triggered abilities trigger when an object “transforms into” an object with a specified characteristic. Such an ability triggers if the object transforms and has the specified characteristic immediately after it transforms.
- 701.28f If an activated or triggered ability of a permanent that isn’t a delayed triggered ability of that permanent tries to transform it, the permanent transforms only if it hasn’t transformed since the ability was put onto the stack. If a delayed triggered ability of a permanent tries to transform that permanent, the permanent transforms only if it hasn’t transformed since that delayed triggered ability was created. In either case, if the permanent has already transformed, the instruction to transform is ignored.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- "Double-faced" always refers to the physical card. It is neither a characteristic nor a copiable value. For example, a token can never be a double-faced permanent even if it's a copy of one.
- Each face of a double-faced card has its own name, types, subtypes, power and toughness, abilities, and so on. While a double-faced card is not on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of its front face. While a double-faced card is on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of the face that's currently up. The other set of characteristics is ignored except for the converted mana cost. The back face has by definition the same converted mana cost as the front face.
- A double-faced card enters the battlefield with the front face up unless it is stated that the card enters the battlefield transformed.
- The back face of a double-faced card can't be cast.
- Transforming a permanent doesn't affect any Auras or Equipment attached to that permanent. Similarly, any counters on the permanent will remain on that permanent after it transforms.
- Damage marked on a double-faced permanent will stay marked on that permanent after it transforms.
See also[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (August 29, 2011). "Every Two Sides Has a Story". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Monty Ashley (September 21, 2011). "The Two Sides". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Tom LaPille (September 16, 2011). "Werewolves Gone Wild". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Doug Beyer (November 30, 2011). "The Only Constant". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (June 27, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (August 28, 2017). "Ixalan Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Ken Nagle (September 5, 2017). "Conquering the Design of Ixalan". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (January 1, 2018). "Rivals of Ixalan Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (March 7, 2016). "Shadows over Innistrad Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.