"Although several older cards give players poison counters, none of those cards have abilities that trigger on combat damage. " - Signed: bud0011 (Talk to me | See my other contributions) 04:14, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
I can see what you mean, Filby; but while there's overlap between poisonous and poison counter, poisonous and poison counter are quite different. If action is to be taken, I would consider merging the two into one, but which under which? Maybe poisonous under poisonous, but that's a bit awkward... I hope we'll hear from others on this. MM (talk!) 05:43, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
This article and Poisonous should be seperate, othewise every card that gives poison counters per the gatherer link on the page would have been errata'd with Poisonous and they weren't. So keep seperate for now unless we can find a way to merge them correctly. Someone could come on here and search for poison counters, should that take them to Poisonous? --GeoMike 12:18, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
- Weren't there old Snake-Creatures that give Players PoisonCounters when they successfully deal damage to them? I think that Poisonous is kind of a Futureshifted ability of FutureSight; like Deathtouch or sth; that will appear on Errata / Oracle when the first time these keywords will appear on *normal prints* --Hó-òh Diskussion 12:28, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
Creatures pre-Poisonous[edit source]
There are X creatures which state "Whenever xxx attacks and isn't blocked, defending player gets x poison counter."
There are X creatures which state "Whenever xxx deals damage to an opponent, that player gets x poison counters."
For referenence, Poisonous 1 reads "Whenever it deals combat damage to a player, that player gets a poison counter."
- In the first set of creatures "attack and isn't blocked" is different from poisonous' "deals combat damage". --GeoMike 15:50, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
- I thought maybe they changed the templating of poison creatures at some specific set, but Crypt Cobra and Sabertooth Cobra both came out in Mirage yet were templated differently. So there goes that theory on changing templating at a certain time. --GeoMike 15:53, 7 October 2007 (UTC)
If a creature with Poisonous or Infect deal damage to a planeswalker do they just take the regular damage or do they receive poison counters, and if so does having 10 Poison Counters on a planeswalker kill it, or is there a smaller/larger number for them? --220.127.116.11 05:33, 28 December 2010 (EST)
Planeswalkers take damage the way they normally do. Infect changes how damage is dealt to players and creatures. Poisonous only triggers when dealing damage to a player.