Talk:Permanent

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

March of the Machines interaction[edit source]

“  A permanent need not necessarily be one of the above types. There are circumstances, such as using Neurok Transmuter's ability to remove the artifact type from an artifact being animated by March of the Machines, in which a permanent can be completely typeless.  ”

I believe this (above) information is incorrect. If you animate a creature with march of the machines, it becomes an artifact creature. If you then use Neurok Transmuter's ability it loses the artifact type, but remains a creature. It is not typeless.

--Wowfood (talk) 14:34, 9 August 2012 (EDT)

Although I shouldn't answer this because I don't play the game (and, so, probably shouldn't bother with anything to do with the game, such as rules), I'm afraid that you are incorrect in your belief. As the Transmuter's ability renders the target not-an-artifact, March of the Machines no longer has an effect on that target. Subsequently, what you have is not a creature and a card with a type but a typeless blue permanent. --MM (talk) 09:01, 30 August 2012 (EDT)
For evidence, see Gatherer for the ruling. Neurok Transmuter (I'm not sure if that links to magiccards.info or Gatherer; but, the rulings say "Neurok Transmuter's second ability interacts strangely with March of the Machines from the Mirrodin set. If an artifact is an artifact creature only because March of the Machines is on the battlefield and you then activate Neurok Transmuter's second ability on that artifact creature, the result is a permanent with no types whatsoever. Neurok Transmuter's ability removes the type "artifact." March of the Machines depends on knowing what is and isn't an artifact. The permanent won't be an artifact when March of the Machine's effect is applied and therefore it won't be turned into a creature." (12/1/2004).)
Cheers. --MM (talk) 09:03, 30 August 2012 (EDT)