We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Surge

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Surge
Type: Static
Introduced: Oath of the Gatewatch
Last Used: Oath of the Gatewatch
Reminder Text: Surge (cost) (You may cast a spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate have cast another spell in the same turn.)
Storm Scale: 4[1]
Statistics: 11 cards
{U}54.55% {R}45.45%
Gatherer search for "Surge"

Surge is a keyword ability introduced in Oath of the Gatewatch that provides an alternative cost that if the spell is set up with another spell.

Description[edit | edit source]

You may cast a spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate have cast another spell in the same turn. However, the triggered ability only gives a bonus to your own creatures, not to your teammate's. The cards are both cheaper and more powerful if cast for their surge cost. [2]

Teammates are all allied players in Two-Headed Giant, Emperor, and certain other multiplayer Magic formats. The development team balanced the mechanic such that the cards could be powerful in two-player games as well.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.116. Surge
    • 702.116a Surge is a static ability that functions while the spell with surge is on the stack. “Surge [cost]” means “You may pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost as you cast this spell if you or one of your teammates has cast another spell this turn.” Paying a spell’s surge cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Surge
A keyword ability that provides an alternative cost to cast a card if you or one of your teammates has cast another spell in the same turn. See rule 702.116, “Surge.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • For some cards, surge represents only an alternative cost, a discount that applies if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn. Other cards, like Reckless Bushwhacker, have additional abilities or effects if you paid the surge cost to cast the spell.
  • The other spell that you or a teammate cast can be one that’s resolved, one that was countered, or (for instants with surge) one that’s still on the stack.
  • If an instant or sorcery spell cast for its surge cost is copied, the copy is also considered to have had its surge cost paid.
  • Casting a spell for its surge cost doesn’t change its mana cost or its converted mana cost.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Reckless Bushwhacker - {2}{R}
    Creature — Goblin Warrior Ally
    2/1
    Surge {1}{R} (You may cast a spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate have cast another spell in the same turn.)
    Haste
    When Reckless Bushwhacker enters the battlefield, if its surge cost was paid, other creatures you control get +1/+0 and gain haste until end of turn.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Ethan Fleischer. (December 28, 2015.) “A First Time for Everything”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.