Sunburst

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
For the theme deck see: Sunburst
Sunburst
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Fifth Dawn
Last Used Fifth Dawn
Reminder Text Sunburst (This enters the battlefield with a [+1/+1 or charge] counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it.)
Statistics 16 cards
{artifact symbol} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Sunburst"

Sunburst is a keyword ability designed by Aaron Forsythe that first appeared in Fifth Dawn.[1]

Description[edit | edit source]

Sunburst appears on both artifacts and artifact creatures that puts charge counters and +1/+1 counters, respectively, on the card when it enters the battlefield. The number of counters is equal to the number of different colors of mana used to cast the spell.

In addition, Sunburst can also be used as a sort of 'X-value'. One card, Arcbound Wanderer has the ability "Modular-Sunburst". "Modular-Sunburst" means that the creature enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana used to cast it, and when that creature dies, its controller may move the +1/+1 counters onto another artifact creature.

Fifth Dawn's cards with the Sunburst ability all share a visual cue - Mirrodin's five suns somewhere in the art.[2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

Sunburst
A keyword ability that can have a permanent enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters or charge counters on it. See rule 702.43, “Sunburst.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 702.43. Sunburst
    • 702.43a Sunburst is a static ability that functions as an object is entering the battlefield. “Sunburst” means “If this object is entering the battlefield as a creature, ignoring any type-changing effects that would affect it, it enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it. Otherwise, it enters the battlefield with a charge counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it.”
    • 702.43b Sunburst adds counters only if the object with sunburst is entering the battlefield from the stack as a resolving spell and only if one or more colored mana was spent on its costs, including additional or alternative costs.
    • 702.43c Sunburst can also be used to set a variable number for another ability. If the keyword is used in this way, it doesn’t matter whether the ability is on a creature spell or on a noncreature spell.

      Example: The ability “Modular—Sunburst” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it” and “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may put a +1/+1 counter on target artifact creature for each +1/+1 counter on this permanent.”

    • 702.43d If an object has multiple instances of sunburst, each one works separately.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • An artifact creature with sunburst enters the battlefield with one +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana used to pay its cost.
  • A noncreature artifact with sunburst enters the battlefield with one charge counter on it for each color of mana used to pay its cost.
  • The type of counters depends on whether the spell is a creature or a noncreature spell, not whether the permanent that results from that spell will be a creature or a noncreature permanent. Even if March of the Machines from the Mirrodin set is on the battlefield, noncreature artifact spells with sunburst enters the battlefield with charge counters.
  • Sunburst doesn't apply if a card is put directly onto the battlefield from a player's hand. It applies only if it's being casted as a spell.
  • If you pay {C}{W}{U}{B}{R}{G} for a six-mana sunburst creature spell, it enters the battlefield with five +1/+1 counters on it—one for each different color of mana you spent.
  • If you pay {C}{C}{U}{B}{B}{R} for a six-mana noncreature artifact spell with sunburst, it enters the battlefield with three charge counters.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Clearwater Goblet {5}
Artifact
Sunburst (This enters the battlefield with a charge counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it.)
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may gain life equal to the number of charge counters on Clearwater Goblet.

Example 2

Suntouched Myr {3}
Artifact Creature — Myr
0/0
Sunburst (This enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (May 10, 2004). "Here Comes the Sunburst". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Magic Arcana (June 8, 2004). "The suns of Sunburst". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.