Difference between revisions of "Split card"

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Updated 708.5 example)
Line 13: Line 13:
 
**'''708.3.''' Each split card that consists of two halves with different colored mana symbols in their mana costs is a multicolored card while it’s not a spell on the stack. While it’s a spell on the stack, it’s only the color or colors of the half or halves being cast.
 
**'''708.3.''' Each split card that consists of two halves with different colored mana symbols in their mana costs is a multicolored card while it’s not a spell on the stack. While it’s a spell on the stack, it’s only the color or colors of the half or halves being cast.
 
**'''708.4.''' Although split cards have two castable halves, each split card is only one card. For example, a player who has drawn or discarded a split card has drawn or discarded one card, not two.
 
**'''708.4.''' Although split cards have two castable halves, each split card is only one card. For example, a player who has drawn or discarded a split card has drawn or discarded one card, not two.
**'''708.5.''' Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it’s in a zone other than the stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card’s two halves). Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a fused split spell gets two answers. Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's a spell on the stack or that asks for the converted mana cost of a fused split spell gets one answer. {{CR Example|<c>Infernal Genesis</c> has an ability that reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” If the top card of your library is <c>Assault // Battery</c> when this ability resolves, the game sees its converted mana cost as “1, and 4.” You get five creature tokens.}}{{CR Example|<c>Spell Blast</c> says "Counter target spell with converted mana cost X." If a player wants to cast Spell Blast and choose the fused split spell <c>Breaking // Entering</c>, which has mana costs {U}{B} and {4}{B}{R}, as the target, that player must choose 8 as the value of X.}}
+
**'''708.5.''' Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it’s in a zone other than the stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card’s two halves). Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a fused split spell gets two answers. Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's a spell on the stack or that asks for the converted mana cost of a fused split spell gets one answer. {{CR Example|<c>Infernal Genesis</c> has an ability that reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” If the top card of your library is <c>Assault // Battery</c>, which has converted mana costs of 1 and 4, when this ability resolves, you simultaneously put one and four creature tokens onto the battlefield, for a total of five.}}{{CR Example|<c>Spell Blast</c> says "Counter target spell with converted mana cost X." If a player wants to cast Spell Blast and choose the fused split spell <c>Breaking // Entering</c>, which has mana costs {U}{B} and {4}{B}{R}, as the target, that player must choose 8 as the value of X.}}
 
**'''708.6.''' Some effects perform comparisons involving one or more split cards in a zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells.
 
**'''708.6.''' Some effects perform comparisons involving one or more split cards in a zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells.
 
***'''708.6a''' Anything that performs a positive comparison (such as asking if a card is red) or a relative comparison (such as asking if a card's converted mana cost is 3 or less) involving one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells gets only one answer. This answer is "yes" if either side of each split card in the comparison would return a "yes" answer if compared individually.{{CR Example|<c>Void</c> reads, "Choose a number. Destroy all artifacts and creatures with converted mana cost equal to that number. Then target player reveals his or her hand and discards all nonland cards with converted mana cost equal to the number." If a player casts Void and chooses 1, his or her opponent would discard <c>Assault // Battery</c> because its converted mana costs are 1 and 4. The same is true if the player chooses 4. If the player chooses 5, however, Assault/Battery would be unaffected.}}
 
***'''708.6a''' Anything that performs a positive comparison (such as asking if a card is red) or a relative comparison (such as asking if a card's converted mana cost is 3 or less) involving one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells gets only one answer. This answer is "yes" if either side of each split card in the comparison would return a "yes" answer if compared individually.{{CR Example|<c>Void</c> reads, "Choose a number. Destroy all artifacts and creatures with converted mana cost equal to that number. Then target player reveals his or her hand and discards all nonland cards with converted mana cost equal to the number." If a player casts Void and chooses 1, his or her opponent would discard <c>Assault // Battery</c> because its converted mana costs are 1 and 4. The same is true if the player chooses 4. If the player chooses 5, however, Assault/Battery would be unaffected.}}

Revision as of 23:35, 8 March 2015

Template:Navigation CR Split cards are Magic cards with two card faces. A split card is literally "split" into two separate cards each with its own card name, art, mana cost, text, etc. In any zone except the stack, a split card has two sets of characteristics; while it's on the stack, it only has the characteristics of the half being played. This provides many interesting interactions with cards that create effects based on converted mana cost. For example, if Dark Confidant reveals a split card, you would lose life equal to the total converted mana cost of both sides. However, Venarian Glimmer needs only be set to the smaller converted mana cost, not the combined converted mana cost.

They were introduced in the Invasion block, where each side was from a different color. [1] In Dissension each half was a multicolored card from a different guild. [2][3] In Planar Chaos, split cards were introduced where both sides were the same color (all split cards in PC are red).

Dragon's Maze introduced split cards with Fuse, an ability that lets you play both halves as one spell. [4]

Rules

Lua error in Module:CR at line 549: Unknown error, multiple lookups .

Notable split cards

References

  1. Mark Rosewater (February 11, 2002). "Split Decisions". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (April 17, 2006). "Split (Odds &) Ends". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Aaron Forsythe (April 28, 2006). "The Truth about Split Cards". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater (April 15, 2013). "A Maze-ing Grace, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.