We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Spell mastery

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Spell Mastery
Introduced: Magic Origins
Last Used: Magic Origins
Typical Text: Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
Statistics: 17 cards
{W}17.6 % {U} 23.5 % {B} 23.5 % {R} 17.6 % {G} 17.6 %
Gatherer search for "Spell Mastery"

Spell mastery is an ability word that gives a card different or additional characteristics if its controller has 2 or more instant or sorcery cards in his or her graveyard. [1] Introduced in Magic Origins, the mechanic featured on a vertical cycle of instants and sorceries in each color, plus on another common in black and blue.

Spell Mastery is written as "Spell mastery -- static ability, self-replacement, activated ability and/or triggered ability.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Ravaging Blaze - {X}{R}{R}
    Instant
    Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.
    Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak. (June 22, 2015.) “Magic Origins Mechanics Article”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.