Spell mastery

From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Spell Mastery)
Jump to: navigation, search
Spell Mastery
Ability Word
Introduced Magic Origins
Last Used Magic Origins
Typical Text Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
Statistics 17 cards
{W} 17.6% {U} 23.5% {B} 23.5% {R} 17.6% {G} 17.6%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Spell Mastery"

Spell mastery is an ability word that gives a card different or additional characteristics if its controller has 2 or more instant or sorcery cards in his or her graveyard.[1] Introduced in Magic Origins, the mechanic featured on a vertical cycle of instants and sorceries in each color, plus on another common in black and blue.

Spell mastery is written as "Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, static ability, self-replacement, activated ability, and/or triggered ability."

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Ravaging Blaze {X}{R}{R}
Instant
Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.
Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak (June 22, 2015). "Magic Origins Mechanics Article". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.