Spectacle

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Spectacle
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Ravnica Allegiance
Last Used Ravnica Allegiance
Reminder Text Spectacle [cost] (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)
Statistics 10 cards
{B} 40% {R} 40% {B/R} 20%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Spectacle"

Spectacle is a keyword ability that gives spells an alternative cost. You can cast a spell for its spectacle cost if an opponent lost life during the turn. It was introduced in Ravnica Allegiance for the Cult of Rakdos of Ravnica.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

On some cards, the alternative cost is a discount, a reward for hurting your opponents. For other cards, the spectacle cost is higher, but there's an additional reward for paying that cost. Paying a spectacle cost is always optional, even if an opponent lost life that turn. Even if you pay a spectacle cost, the mana cost and converted mana cost of the spell don't change.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

Spectacle
A keyword ability that allows certain spells to be cast for an alternative cost if an opponent has lost life. See rule 702.136, “Spectacle.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 702.136. Spectacle
    • 702.136a Spectacle is a static ability that functions on the stack. “Spectacle [cost]” means “You may pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.” Paying a spell’s spectacle cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Damage dealt to a player causes that player to lose that much life.
  • Spectacle doesn't change when you can cast the card. For example, you can't cast a sorcery with spectacle during an opponent's turn unless another effect allows you to do so, even if that player has lost life this turn.
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as a spectacle cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
  • A card's spectacle cost is the same no matter how much life your opponents lost or how many opponents lost life.
  • In a multiplayer game, if an opponent loses life and later that turn leaves the game, you can cast a spell for its spectacle cost. (If a player leaves the game during their turn, that turn continues without an active player.)

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Rix Maadi Reveler {1}{R}
Creature — Human Shaman
2/2
Spectacle {2}{B}{R} (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)
When Rix Maadi Reveler enters the battlefield, discard a card, then draw a card. If Rix Maadi Reveler’s spectacle cost was paid, instead discard your hand, then draw three cards.

Example 2

Light Up the Stage {2}{R}
Sorcery
Spectacle {R} (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)
Exile the top two cards of your library. Until the end of your next turn, you may play those cards.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak (December 17, 2018). "Ravnica Allegiance Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (January 7, 2019). "Building Allegiances, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.