|Last Used||Ravnica Allegiance|
|Reminder Text||Spectacle [cost] (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)|
10 cards |
40% 40% 20%
Spectacle is a keyword ability that gives spells an alternative cost. You can cast a spell for its spectacle cost if an opponent lost life during the turn. It was introduced in Ravnica Allegiance for the Cult of Rakdos of Ravnica.
Description[edit | edit source]
On some cards, the alternative cost is a discount, a reward for hurting your opponents. For other cards, the spectacle cost is higher, but there's an additional reward for paying that cost. Paying a spectacle cost is always optional, even if an opponent lost life that turn. Even if you pay a spectacle cost, the mana cost and converted mana cost of the spell don't change.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Damage dealt to a player causes that player to lose that much life.
- Spectacle doesn't change when you can cast the card. For example, you can't cast a sorcery with spectacle during an opponent's turn unless another effect allows you to do so, even if that player has lost life this turn.
- To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as a spectacle cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
- A card's spectacle cost is the same no matter how much life your opponents lost or how many opponents lost life.
- In a multiplayer game, if an opponent loses life and later that turn leaves the game, you can cast a spell for its spectacle cost. (If a player leaves the game during their turn, that turn continues without an active player.)
Examples[edit | edit source]