Soulshift

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Soulshift
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Champions of Kamigawa
Last Used Saviors of Kamigawa
Reminder Text Soulshift N (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost N or less from your graveyard to your hand.)
Statistics 27 cards
{W} 18.5% {B} 33.3% {G} 48.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Soulshift"

Soulshift is a triggered ability on some Spirit creatures found in Champions of Kamigawa. The ability allows a player to return a, typically, less expensive Spirit creature card from their graveyard to their hand.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Soulshift
A keyword ability that lets a player return a card from their graveyard to their hand. See rule 702.45, “Soulshift.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 702.45. Soulshift
    • 702.45a Soulshift is a triggered ability. “Soulshift N” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost N or less from your graveyard to your hand.”
    • 702.45b If a permanent has multiple instances of soulshift, each triggers separately.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The soulshift number tells you the maximum converted mana cost of the Spirit card you can target.
  • You choose whether or not to return the targeted creature card when the ability resolves.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Thousand-legged Kami {6}{G}{G}
Creature — Spirit
6/6
Soulshift 7 (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost 7 or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Example 2

Forked-Branch Garami {3}{G}{G}
Creature — Spirit
4/4
Soulshift 4, soulshift 4 (When this creature dies, you may return up to two target Spirit cards with converted mana cost 4 or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Example 3

Kodama of the Center Tree {4}{G}
Legendary Creature — Spirit
*/*
Kodama of the Center Tree’s power and toughness are each equal to the number of Spirits you control.
Kodama of the Center Tree has soulshift X, where X is the number of Spirits you control. (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost X or less from your graveyard to your hand.)