Snow

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Snow mana symbol

Snow is a supertype with no inherent functionality. Instead, it serves as an identifying characteristic, and is closely tied to snow mana costs.

Snow appears on basic lands from Ice Age, and on cards of multiple types in Coldsnap. It is referenced by cards in Alliances.

Description[edit | edit source]

Unlike other supertypes, like basic or world, but similar to the spell subtype arcane, snow does nothing other than to identify snow permanents. Instead, various effects reference snow permanents.[1][2]

Snow mana costs[edit | edit source]

Snow mana costs, represented by {S}, can be paid by one mana produced by a snow permanent, regardless of that mana's type. However, this is a requirement of the cost itself. The mana produced by a snow permanent has no special properties, effects, or restrictions derived from the snow supertype, and except when considering snow mana costs, that mana is indistinguishable from any other mana of the same type.

History[edit | edit source]

Snow is a replacement for the supertype "Snow-Covered". Cards that were formerly snow-covered received Oracle updates upon the release of the Coldsnap expansion set.[3]

Mark Rosewater considers snow basic lands a mistake, because they caused a lot of confusion about where and how many could be used in decks.[4][5][6][7] He is highly skeptical that they ever will be reprinted in a Standard-legal set.[8]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018))

Snow
A supertype that’s normally relevant on permanents. See rule 205.4, “Supertypes.”

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018))

Snow Mana Symbol
The snow mana symbol {S} represents a cost that can be paid with one mana produced by a snow permanent. See rule 107.4h.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018))

Snow-Covered (Obsolete)
Some older cards were printed with the term “snow-covered” in their rules text. Except when referencing card names, such cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to reference the supertype “snow” instead. See Snow.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018))

  • 107.4h The snow mana symbol {S} represents one generic mana in a cost. This generic mana can be paid with one mana of any type produced by a snow permanent (see rule 205.4g). Effects that reduce the amount of generic mana you pay don’t affect {S} costs. (There is no such thing as “snow mana”; “snow” is not a type of mana.)

From the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2018 (August 10, 2018))

  • 205.4g Any permanent with the supertype “snow” is a snow permanent. Any permanent that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonsnow permanent, regardless of its name.

Notes[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

External link[edit | edit source]

Promotional Content