Scavenge

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Scavenge
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Return to Ravnica
Last Used Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text Scavenge [cost] (Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)
Storm Scale 4[1]
Statistics 11 cards
{B} 27.3% {G} 45.5% {B/G} 27.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Scavenge"

Scavenge is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica as the mechanic for the Golgari guild.[2] Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with scavenge. It basically reads as a variation on flashback that makes target creature bigger.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Scavenge
A keyword ability that allows you to exile a creature card from your graveyard to put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.96, “Scavenge.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

  • 702.96. Scavenge
    • 702.96a Scavenge is an activated ability that functions only while the card with scavenge is in a graveyard. “Scavenge [cost]” means “[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the power of the card you exiled on target creature. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it’s too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Dreg Mangler {1}{B}{G}
Creature — Plant Zombie
3/3
Haste
Scavenge {3}{B}{G} ({3}{B}{G}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)

References[edit | edit source]