Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!


From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Sacrificed)
Jump to: navigation, search
Keyword Action
Introduced Alpha (mechanic)
Revised Edition (keyword)
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Scryfall Search

Sacrifice, often shortened to sac, is a keyword action. It means to move a permanent you control to its owner’s graveyard.

Description[edit | edit source]

Sacrificing or saccing is purposely or forcefully removing a permanent from play. This can be due to an effect on the card itself, the effect of another permanent already in play, coming into or leaving play or a spell such as an instant or sorcery. A sacrificed permanent cannot be regenerated. Even though the card Sacrifice was in Alpha, the keyword action of sacrifice didn't show up until Revised Edition.[1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

To move a permanent you control to its owner’s graveyard. See rule 701.16, “Sacrifice.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 701.16. Sacrifice
    • 701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Arms Dealer {2}{R}
Creature — Goblin
{1}{R}, Sacrifice a Goblin: Arms Dealer deals 4 damage to target creature.

Example 2

Cruel Edict {1}{B}
Target opponent sacrifices a creature.

Example 3

Krark-Clan Ironworks {4}
Sacrifice an artifact: Add {C}{C}.

Forced sacrifice[edit | edit source]

  • Sacrifice a creature (target/each player sacrifices a creature) is primary in black.[2]
  • Sacrifice an artifact (target/each player sacrifices an artifact) is primary in red.[2]
  • Sacrifice a permanent (target/each player sacrifices a permanent) is also primary in red.[2]

Creatures that prevent/prohibit sacrificing[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. a b c Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.