Sacrifice

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sacrifice
Keyword Action
Introduced Alpha (mechanic)
Revised Edition (keyword)
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Sacrifice"

Sacrifice, often shortened to sac, is a keyword action. It means to move a permanent you control to its owner's graveyard.

Description[edit | edit source]

Sacrificing or saccing is purposely or forcefully removing a permanent from play. This can be due to an effect on the card itself, the effect of another permanent already in play, coming into or leaving play or a spell such as an instant or sorcery. A sacrificed permanent cannot be regenerated. Even though the card Sacrifice was in Alpha, the keyword action of sacrifice didn't show up until Revised Edition.[1]

Strategy[edit | edit source]

Sacrifice decks have a unique strategy: convert one resource into another that leads you to victory. One of the first competitive combo sacrifice decks is among the most famous in its history: Prosperous Bloom.[2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

Sacrifice
To move a permanent you control to its owner’s graveyard. See rule 701.17, “Sacrifice.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

  • 701.17. Sacrifice
    • 701.17a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Arms Dealer {2}{R}
Creature — Goblin
1/1
{1}{R}, Sacrifice a Goblin: Arms Dealer deals 4 damage to target creature.

Example 2

Cruel Edict {1}{B}
Sorcery
Target opponent sacrifices a creature.

Example 3

Krark-Clan Ironworks {4}
Artifact
Sacrifice an artifact: Add {C}{C}.

Forced sacrifice[edit | edit source]

  • Sacrifice a creature (target/each player sacrifices a creature) is primary in black.[3]
  • Sacrifice an artifact (target/each player sacrifices an artifact) is primary in red.[3]
  • Sacrifice a permanent (target/each player sacrifices a permanent) is also primary in red.[3]

Creatures that prevent/prohibit sacrificing[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Adam Styborski (July 28, 2020). "What Woud You Sacrifice To Win?". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. a b c Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.