Revolt

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Revolt
Introduced: Aether Revolt
Last Used: Aether Revolt
Typical Text: Revolt — ..., if a permanent you controlled left the battlefield this turn, ...
Statistics:
Gatherer search for "Revolt"

Revolt is an ability word, introduced in Aether Revolt, which signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a permanent you controlled left the battlefield earlier in the same turn. It is very similar to Morbid, which checks if a creature died earlier in this turn.[1][2][3][4]

Mark Rosewater considers Revolt to be a failed mechanic, because it was a hard ability to monitor ánd disconnected flavorfully.[5]

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Silkweaver Elite - {2}{G}
    Creature — Elf Archer
    2/2
    Reach
    Revolt — When Silkweaver Elite enters the battlefield, if a permanent you control left the battlefield this turn, draw a card.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Revolt abilities check only whether a permanent you controlled left the battlefield this turn or not. They don’t apply multiple times if more than one permanent you controlled left the battlefield. They don’t check whether the permanent that left the battlefield is still in the zone it moved to.[6]
  • Revolt abilities don’t care why the permanent left the battlefield, who caused it to move, or where it moved to. They’re equally satisfied by an artifact you sacrificed to pay a cost, a creature you controlled that was destroyed by Murder, or an enchantment you returned to your hand with Leave in the Dust.
  • Tokens that leave the battlefield will satisfy a revolt ability.
  • Energy counters aren’t permanents. Paying E won’t satisfy a revolt ability.
  • All cards in the Aether Revolt set with triggered revolt abilities use an intervening “if” clause. A permanent you controlled must have left the battlefield earlier in the turn in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise they do nothing. In other words, there’s no way to have the ability trigger if no permanent you controlled has left the battlefield that turn, even if you intend to have one do so in response to the triggered ability.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (January 2, 2017.) “A Revolting Development (and Design), Part 1”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak. (January 2, 2017.) “Aether Revolt Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Ben Hayes. ( January 3, 2017.) “Leading Aether Revolt”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (January 9, 2017.) “A Revolting Development (and Design), Part 2”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (August 28, 2017.) “State of Design 2017”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Wizards of the Coast. (January 6, 2017.) “Aether Revolt Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.