Reinforce

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Reinforce
Type: Activated
Introduced: Morningtide
Last Used: Morningtide
Reminder Text: Reinforce N — (cost) (Discard this card: Put N +1/+1 counters on target creature.)
Statistics: 7 cards
{W}43% {G}29% {R}14% Land 14%
Gatherer search for "Reinforce"

Reinforce is an activated keyword ability that functions only while the card with reinforce is in a player’s hand. It was introduced in Morningtide.[1] By 2010, it was considered a design failure.[2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Rivals of Ixalan (January 19, 2018))

  • 702.76. Reinforce
    • 702.76a Reinforce is an activated ability that functions only while the card with reinforce is in a player’s hand. “Reinforce N—[cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Put N +1/+1 counters on target creature.”
    • 702.76b Although the reinforce ability can be activated only if the card is in a player’s hand, it continues to exist while the object is on the battlefield and in all other zones. Therefore objects with reinforce will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated abilities.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Rivals of Ixalan (January 19, 2018))

Reinforce
A keyword ability that lets a player put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.76, “Reinforce.”

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Mosquito Guard - {W}
    Creature — Kithkin Soldier
    1/1
    First strike
    Reinforce 1 — {1}{W} ({1}{W}, Discard this card: Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (January 14, 2008.) “But Wait, There's More”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (November 8, 2010.) “Essay What”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
Promotional Content