We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: End of Week.
|Reminder Text:||Recover (cost) (When a creature is put into your graveyard from the battlefield, you may pay (cost). If you do, return this card from your graveyard to your hand. Otherwise, exile this card.)|
|Statistics:|| 7 cards|
44% 14% 14% 14% 14%
|Gatherer search for "Recover"|
Recover is a keyword ability that debuted in Coldsnap.  It allows a player to return cards with the ability to their hand by paying the card's Recover cost when a creature next goes into their graveyard from play. However, if they do not pay the Recover cost then the card is instead removed from the game.
Description[edit | edit source]
The ability was inspired by the "graveyard order" cards from Ice Age such as Death Spark, but was designed to be easier to keep track of than those cards. Recover mostly appears on instants and sorceries, but also appears on the creature card Garza's Assassin. As with Ice Age 's graveyard order cards, a key aspect of playing with and against Recover cards is timing when to play them and when to destroy creatures in order to maximise their effectiveness. For the player using Recover cards, playing instants with the ability during combat and using sacrifice effects are good ways to exploit Recover. When playing against Recover cards, the best tactic is to wait until the opponent is tapped out, then destroy one of their creatures in order to remove all of the Recover cards in their graveyard from the game.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- You get only one chance to use a card's recover ability. After a card with recover is put into your graveyard, any creature put into your graveyard from play causes the recover ability to trigger. When the ability resolves, either you pay the recover cost and return the card to your hand, or you don't pay and the card is removed from the game.
- If a creature with recover is put into your graveyard from play, it doesn't cause its own recover ability to trigger. Similarly, if another creature is put into your graveyard from play at the same time that a card with recover is put there, it won't cause that recover ability to trigger.
- If multiple creatures are put into your graveyard from play at the same time, the recover ability of a card already in your graveyard triggers that many times. Only the first one to resolve will cause the card to move somewhere. By the time any of the other triggers resolve, the card won't be in your graveyard anymore. You can still pay the recover cost, but nothing else will happen.
Example[edit | edit source]