Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Ransom

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ransom
Keyword Action
Introduced Mystery Booster
Last Used Mystery Booster
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Statistics 2 cards
{U} 50% {B} 50%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Ransom"

Ransom is a keyword action that allows an opponent to undo the effect of a card by paying a ransom cost. The mechanic appeared on two test cards in the Mystery Booster set.

Description[edit | edit source]

Unlike similar cards that allows the opponent to pay a resource to keep the effect from working, like Force Spike, the Ransom cost can be paid at any moment.[1]

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Squidnapper {3}{U}{U}
Creature — Squid Pirate
3/4
When Squidnapper enters the battlefield, gain control of target creature an opponent controls until Squidnapper leaves the battlefield or that player pays the ransom.
Ransom — {6} and 2 life

Example 2

Frogkin Kidnapper {1}{B}
Creature — Frog Rogue
2/1
When Frogkin Kidnapper enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals their hand. Choose a nonland card from it. Ransom that card. (Exile it. Its owner may pay {3} at any time to return it to their hand.)

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Paying a ransom cost to end an effect is a special action. The card's owner may pay that cost any time they have priority, and players can't take actions in between the time the player announces their intent to pay and the time the card returns to the zone from which it came.
  • If a card with a ransom ability loses that ability, it has no ransom cost. No player may pay its ransom cost.
  • The exiled card's owner may pay its ransom cost even if the permanent that ransomed it leaves the battlefield.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Eli Shiffrin (November 11, 2019). "Mystery Booster Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.