|Last Used||Mystery Booster|
|Reminder Text||No official reminder text|
Description[edit | edit source]
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Squid Pirate
When Squidnapper enters the battlefield, gain control of target creature an opponent controls until Squidnapper leaves the battlefield or that player pays the ransom.
Ransom — and 2 life
Creature — Frog Rogue
When Frogkin Kidnapper enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals their hand. Choose a nonland card from it. Ransom that card. (Exile it. Its owner may pay at any time to return it to their hand.)
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Paying a ransom cost to end an effect is a special action. The card's owner may pay that cost any time they have priority, and players can't take actions in between the time the player announces their intent to pay and the time the card returns to the zone from which it came.
- If a card with a ransom ability loses that ability, it has no ransom cost. No player may pay its ransom cost.
- The exiled card's owner may pay its ransom cost even if the permanent that ransomed it leaves the battlefield.