Prowess

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Prowess
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Khans of Tarkir
Last Used: Evergreen
Reminder Text: Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Storm Scale: 1[1]
Statistics: 27 cards
{U}55.6% {R}22.2% {W}18.5% {U/R}3.7%
Gatherer search for "Prowess"

Prowess is a keyword ability that was introduced as the clan-specific mechanic for the Jeskai Way in Khans of Tarkir [2][3] and Fate Reforged. [4] R&D's need for blue to get a combat-relevant keyword that wasn't about evasion caused Prowess to become evergreen in Magic Origins.

Description[edit | edit source]

Prowess was designed by Jonathon Loucks during the second Great Designer Search. [5]. Creatures with the Prowess trigger get +1/+1 until end of turn when a non-creature spell is cast by their controller.

Prowess is secondary in red and tertiary in white[6][7]. Mark Rosewater has admitted that Prowess has more design issues than the average evergreen mechanic.[8]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.107. Prowess
    • 702.107a Prowess is a triggered ability. “Prowess” means “Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.”
    • 702.107b If a creature has multiple instances of prowess, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Prowess
A keyword ability that causes a creature to get +1/+1 whenever its controller casts a noncreature spell. See rule 702.107, “Prowess.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Any spell you cast that doesn't have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won't cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won't cause prowess to trigger.
  • Prowess triggers only once for any spell, even if that spell has multiple types.
  • Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
  • Once it triggers, prowess isn't connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Jeskai Elder[9] - {1}{U}
    Creature — Human Monk
    1/2
    Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
    Whenever Jeskai Elder deals combat damage to a player, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (February 29, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Khans of Tarkir Block”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Sam Stoddard. (November 7, 2014.) “Developmental Prowess”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak. (August 31, 2014.) “Mechanics of Khans of Tarkir”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Matt Tabak. (December 29, 2014.) “Mechanics of Fate Reforged”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (July 26, 2016.) "Trivia on my favorite mechanic, prowess?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  6. Mark Rosewater. (June 8, 2015.) “Evergreen Eggs & Ham”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  7. Matt Tabak. (June 22, 2015.) “Magic Origins Mechanics Article”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  8. Mark Rosewater. (October 05, 2017.) "Is Prowess harder to develop than originally concepted?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  9. Blake Rasmussen. (August 18, 2014.) “Duel Decks: Speed vs. Cunning”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.