|Introduced||Return to Ravnica|
|Last Used||Commander 2019|
|Reminder Text||Populate (Create a token that's a copy of a creature token you control.)|
33.3% 5.6% 22.2% 33.3% 5.6%per Commander 2019
Commander 2019 later used populate as a theme for its deck, which added five new cards
- A keyword action that creates a copy of a creature token you control. See rule 701.29, “Populate.”
- 701.29. Populate
- 701.29a To populate means to choose a creature token you control and create a token that’s a copy of that creature token.
- 701.29b If you control no creature tokens when instructed to populate, you won’t create a token.
- You can choose any creature token you control. If a spell or ability puts a token onto the battlefield under your control and then instructs you to populate (as Coursers’ Accord does), you may choose to copy the token you just created, or you may choose to copy another creature token you control.
- If you choose to copy a creature token that’s a copy of another creature, the new creature token will copy the characteristics of whatever the original token is copying.
- The new creature token copies the characteristics of the original token as stated by the effect that put the original token onto the battlefield.
- The new token doesn’t copy whether the original token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, color, and so on.
- Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the new token will work.
- If you control no creature tokens when you populate, nothing will happen.
- Mark Rosewater (May 2, 2016). "Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 27, 2018). "What was the Guilds that you are directly responsible to design its abilities?". Blogatog. Tumblr.