From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Nonbasic is a card, usually a land, that doesn't have the basic supertype. As per Magic rules, only 4 of each nonbasic land can be in a deck at any one time. Basic lands do not have this restriction.[1] Nonbasic lands often depict notable locations from the relevant set's style guide. [2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Rivals of Ixalan (January 19, 2018))

  • 205.4c Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land, even if it has a basic land type.: Cards printed in sets prior to the Eighth Edition core set didn’t use the word “basic” to indicate a basic land. Cards from those sets with the following names are basic lands and have received errata in the Oracle card reference accordingly: Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, Swamp, Snow-Covered Forest, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Mountain, Snow-Covered Plains, and Snow-Covered Swamp.

Note that a nonbasic land may have a basic land type (Plains, Island, etc).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (March 31, 2003.) “This Land is My Land”,, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Doug Beyer. (February 11, 2009.) “Incursion Zones”,, Wizards of the Coast.
Promotional Content