We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Nonbasic

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Nonbasic is a card, usually a land, that doesn't have the basic supertype. As per Magic rules, only 4 of each nonbasic land can be in a deck at any one time. Basic lands do not have this restriction.[1] Nonbasic lands often depict notable locations from the relevant set's style guide. [2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 205.4c Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land, even if it has a basic land type.: Cards printed in sets prior to the Eighth Edition core set didn’t use the word “basic” to indicate a basic land. Cards from those sets with the following names are basic lands and have received errata in the Oracle card reference accordingly: Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, Swamp, Snow-Covered Forest, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Mountain, Snow-Covered Plains, and Snow-Covered Swamp.

Note that a nonbasic land may have a basic land type (Plains, Island, etc).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (March 31, 2003.) “This Land is My Land”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Doug Beyer. (February 11, 2009.) “Incursion Zones”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.