Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Nonbasic land

From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Non-basic)
Jump to: navigation, search

Nonbasic lands are lands that do not have the basic supertype.

As per Magic rules, only 4 of each nonbasic land can be in a deck at any one time. Basic lands do not have this restriction.[1] Nonbasic lands often depict notable locations from the relevant set's style guide.[2]

Note that a nonbasic land may have a basic land type (Plains, Island, etc).

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Nonbasic Land
Any land that doesn’t have the supertype “basic.” See rule 205.4, “Supertypes.”

Nonbasic land types[edit | edit source]

Nonbasic land types are essentially all land types which do not appear on a basic land.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (March 31, 2003). "This Land is My Land". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Doug Beyer (February 11, 2009). "Incursion Zones". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.