Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Motivate

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Motivate
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Mystery Booster
Last Used Mystery Booster
Reminder Text Motivate [cost] (This creature can’t attack or block unless you have paid its motivate cost once. Motivate only as a sorcery.)
Statistics 1 card
{R} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Motivate"

Motivate is a keyword ability that allows a player to activate dormant creatures that had been cast cheaply first for a cheap effect. To motivate, a motivate cost has to be paid.

The mechanic appeared on a test card in the Mystery Booster set.

Example[edit | edit source]

Example

Lazier Goblin {R}
Creature — Goblin
2/1
Motivate {3}{R} (This creature can’t attack or block unless you have paid its motivate cost once. Motivate only as a sorcery.)
When Lazier Goblin enters the battlefield, it deals 2 damage to any target.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Paying a creature's motivate cost is a special action that its controller may take any time they have priority during their main phase with no spells or abilities on the stack.[1]
  • Once you motivate a creature, it remains motivated for you for as long as it remains on the battlefield. If another player gains control of it, that player must motivate it before it can attack or block, but if you regain control of it, it's still motivated for you.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Eli Shiffrin (November 11, 2019). "Mystery Booster Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.