|Last Used||Commander 2014|
|Typical Text||Morbid — …, if a creature died this turn, …|
38.9% 5.6% 50% 5.6%
Morbid is an ability word, introduced in Innistrad, which signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a creature has died earlier in the same turn.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Morbid abilities merely check if a creature died earlier in the turn. The creature card doesn't need to still be in the graveyard.
- Token creatures can also die, going to their owner's graveyard before ceasing to exist.
- Some morbid abilities that appear on instants and sorceries use the word "instead." The spells have an upgraded effect when they resolve if a creature has died earlier in the turn. You only get the upgraded effect, not both effects.
- Some morbid abilities are activated abilities of permanents. To activate such an ability, a creature must have died earlier in the turn.
- Triggered morbid abilities use an intervening "if" clause. A creature must have died earlier in the turn in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise they do nothing. In other words, there's no way to have the ability trigger if no creature has died that turn, even if you intend to have a creature die in response to the triggered ability.
- Using Morbid allows a card to be state based as long as conditions are met.