We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Morbid

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Morbid
Introduced: Innistrad
Last Used: Commander 2014
Typical Text: Morbid — …, if a creature died this turn, …
Statistics: 18 cards
{G}50 % {B}38.8 % {B/G} 5.5 % {R}5.5 %
Gatherer search for "Morbid"

Morbid is an ability word, introduced in Innistrad, which signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a creature has died earlier in the same turn. [1]

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Morbid abilities merely check if a creature died earlier in the turn. The creature card doesn't need to still be in the graveyard.
  • Token creatures can also die, going to their owner's graveyard before ceasing to exist.
  • Some morbid abilities that appear on instants and sorceries use the word "instead." The spells have an upgraded effect when they resolve if a creature has died earlier in the turn. You only get the upgraded effect, not both effects.
  • Some morbid abilities are activated abilities of permanents. To activate such an ability, a creature must have died earlier in the turn.
  • Triggered morbid abilities use an intervening "if" clause. A creature must have died earlier in the turn in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise they do nothing. In other words, there's no way to have the ability trigger if no creature has died that turn, even if you intend to have a creature die in response to the triggered ability.
  • Using Morbid allows a card to be state based as long as conditions are met.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Hollowhenge Scavenger - {3}{G}{G}
    Creature — Elemental
    4/5
    Morbid — When Hollowhenge Scavenger enters the battlefield, if a creature died this turn, you gain 5 life.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Zac Hill. (November 11, 2011.) “Morbid Thoughts”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]