Only one player at a time can be the monarch and has the following ability: "At the beginning of the monarch's end step, that player draws a card." Secondly, several cards in the set get better if you're the monarch.
Becoming the Monarch
There are various ways a player becomes the monarch:
- Playing a card that makes someone the monarch.
- Dealing combat damage with a creature to the monarch.
- Being the active player when the monarch leaves the game.
- Being the next player in turn order, when the monarch is the active player and leaves the game.
- 717. The Monarch
- 717.1. The monarch is a designation a player can have. There is no monarch in a game until an effect instructs a player to become the monarch.
- 717.2. There are two inherent triggered abilities associated with being the monarch. These triggered abilities have no source and are controlled by the player who was the monarch at the time the abilities triggered. This is an exception to rule 113.8. The full texts of these abilities are “At the beginning of the monarch’s end step, that player draws a card” and “Whenever a creature deals combat damage to the monarch, its controller becomes the monarch.”
- 717.3. Only one player can be the monarch at a time. As a player becomes the monarch, the current monarch ceases to be the monarch.
- 717.4. If the monarch leaves the game, the active player becomes the monarch at the same time as that player leaves the game. If the active player is leaving the game or if there is no active player, the next player in turn order becomes the monarch.
- A designation a player can have. Some effects instruct a player to become the monarch. The monarch draws a card at the beginning of their end step. Dealing combat damage to the monarch steals the title from that player. See rule 717, “The Monarch.”
- The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.
- Abilities that trigger whenever you "become the monarch" trigger only if you aren't already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won't trigger.
- If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card.
Monarch interaction cards
- Canal Courier
- Crown-Hunter Hireling
- Custodi Lich
- Entourage of Trest
- Keeper of Keys
- Knights of the Black Rose
- Palace Jailer
- Palace Sentinels
- Protector of the Crown
- Queen Marchesa
- Regal Behemoth
- Skyline Despot
- Thorn of the Black Rose
- Throne of the High City
- Throne Warden
- Matt Tabak (August 15, 2016). "Conspiracy: Take the Crown Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 15, 2016). "It's Another Conspiracy". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Shawn Main (August 15, 2016). "The Heart of a Conspiracy". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Ben Hayes (August 16, 2016). "Developing Conspiracy: Take the Crown". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (August 22, 2016). "Conspiracy: Take the Crown Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 29, 2016). "Are you aware that the Monarch mechanic functions nearly identical from Vampire's the Masquerade mechanism called the Edge?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (September 4, 2017). "Just for Ix(alan), Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.