Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Modular

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
For the design concept, see Mechanic#Modular.
Modular
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Triggered (2nd ability)
Introduced Darksteel
Last Used Modern Horizons
Reminder Text Modular N (This enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies, you may put its +1/+1 counters on target artifact creature.)
Statistics 12 cards
{artifact symbol} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Modular"

Modular is a keyword ability that allows artifact creatures to enter the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters, and put those counters on another artifact creature when the creature dies.[1]

History[edit | edit source]

Modular appeared in Darksteel and Fifth Dawn. The only creatures to appear with Modular also had "Arcbound" in the title, until the release of Modern Horizons.[2][3]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Modular
A keyword ability that has a permanent enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it and can move those counters to other artifact creatures. See rule 702.42, “Modular.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 702.42. Modular
    • 702.42a Modular represents both a static ability and a triggered ability. “Modular N” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it” and “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may put a +1/+1 counter on target artifact creature for each +1/+1 counter on this permanent.”
    • 702.42b If a creature has multiple instances of modular, each one works separately.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • If an Arcbound creature gets enough -1/-1 counters to make its toughness 0 or cause the damage on it to now be lethal, the Modular ability will still give another artifact creature a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the number the Arcbound creature had before it got -1/-1 counters.
  • For the enters-the-battlefield ability, the number of counters the permanent gets is equal to the number that follows "modular" on the card.
  • For the leaves-the-battlefield ability, the number of counters on the permanent at the time it left the battlefield is what's relevant; the number after "modular" doesn't matter.
  • When a creature with modular dies, you may put the counters onto a single target artifact creature. You can't split them among two or more artifact creatures.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Arcbound Bruiser {5}
Artifact Creature — Golem
0/0
Modular 3 (This enters the battlefield with three +1/+1 counters on it. When it dies, you may put its +1/+1 counters on target artifact creature.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (January 12, 2004). "Arcbound To Happen". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Magic Arcana (January 27, 2004). "The flavor of modular". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak (May 31, 2019). "Modern Horizons Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.