Static (1st ability)|
Triggered (2nd ability)
|Last Used||Commander 2018|
|Reminder Text||Miracle [cost] (You may cast this card for its Miracle cost when you draw it if it's the first card you drew this turn.)|
25% 25% 8.3% 25% 16.7%
Description[edit | edit source]
Miracle provides an alternative cost for a card which can be used while drawing it if it is the first card drawn during a turn. The timing of casting it is similar to the timing of casting cards with Madness. If a player intends to cast a card for its miracle cost, the card must be revealed immediately. Costs are paid when the effect causing the draw is finished and the triggered ability to cast it resolves.
Miracle was popular if polarizing and had developmental issues. It, for example, requires you to change how you draw your cards (even if you just want to make your opponent think you might be playing it). Mark Rosewater thinks it will come back if R&D can solve the issues surrounding it (which may or may not be solvable). They once have even toyed with the idea of different colored card backs for Miracles.
Initially, Miracle was in all colors but black. R&D considered making a black miracle when they returned to Innistrad, but decided that they didn't want to bring the miracle mechanic back as it caused issues in tournaments (it forced all players to slow down their play to not telegraph they weren't playing the mechanic). The black miracle finally appeared in Commander 2018.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that lets you cast a spell for a reduced cost if it’s the first card you draw in a turn. See rule 702.93, “Miracle.”
- 702.93. Miracle
- 702.93a Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability. (See rule 603.11.) “Miracle [cost]” means “You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it’s the first card you’ve drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost.”
- 702.93b If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, they play with that card revealed until that card leaves their hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack. (See rule 701.15a.)
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- You still draw the card, whether you use the miracle ability or not. Any ability that triggers whenever you draw a card, for example, will trigger. If you don't cast the card using its miracle ability, it will remain in your hand.
- You can reveal and cast a card with miracle on any turn, not just your own, if it's the first card you've drawn that turn.
- You don't have to reveal a drawn card with miracle if you don't wish to cast it at that time.
- You can cast a card for its miracle cost only as the miracle triggered ability resolves. If you don't want to cast it at that time (or you can't cast it, perhaps because there are no legal targets available), you won't be able to cast it later for the miracle cost.
- You cast the card with miracle during the resolution of the triggered ability. Ignore any timing restrictions based on the card's type.
- It's important to reveal a card with miracle before it is mixed with the other cards in your hand.
- Multiple card draws are always treated as a sequence of individual card draws. For example, if you haven't drawn any cards yet during a turn and cast a spell that instructs you to draw three cards, you'll draw them one at a time. Only the first card drawn this way may be revealed and cast using its miracle ability.
- If the card with miracle leaves your hand before the triggered ability resolves, you won't be able to cast it using its miracle ability.
- You draw your opening hand before any turn begins. Cards you draw for your opening hand can't be cast using miracle.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Put target artifact, creature, or enchantment on the bottom of its owner's library.
Miracle (You may cast this card for its Miracle cost when you draw it if it's the first card you drew this turn.)
Reverse miracle[edit | edit source]
The test card Sunimret from the Mystery Booster set features Reverse miracle. As you search your library, if a card with reverse miracle is the bottom-most card in your library, you may cast the card for its reverse miracle cost.
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (December 28, 2017). "What is the Miracle mechanic on the storm scale?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (April 9, 2012). "Avacyn City, Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (September 25, 2016). "What are your thoughts on Miracle?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (August 25, 2017). "Trivia on Miracle?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (August 12, 2018). "What is considered wrong/bad about Miracle?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (August 06, 2019). "Did any iteration of miracle try to have Miracle cards shuffled face up in the deck?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (December 28, 2017). "Why have you never printed a black Miracle?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Corbin Hosler (July 26, 2018). "Entreat the Dead". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.