Meld

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Meld
Keyword Action
Introduced Eldritch Moon
Last Used Eldritch Moon
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Statistics 6 meld cards
3 meld pairs
{W} 33.3% {B} 33.3% {R} 16.7% {land symbol} 16.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Meld"

Meld is a keyword action introduced in Eldritch Moon and means to turn two meld cards on the back side into one oversized card, if you control the proper pair.[1]

Description[edit | edit source]

Two cards melded into one

The design of Meld was inspired by the Un-card B.F.M. (Big Furry Monster) and the unreleased mechanic Link.[2]

Two cards that meld, change into one oversized card on the battlefield. That single card only exists on the backs of the two other cards.[3] A melded card is a single permanent represented by two cards. If it is one creature, it behaves like any other creature does. It can attack and block. It has abilities that work. It can be enchanted or equipped. You can put counters on it. And so on. You can think of it as one big card while on the battlefield. A single spell that says "Destroy target creature" takes out the whole permanent.

One of the two cards has the actual keyword action in its rules text, the other card only has the reminder text: Melds with (card name).

Whenever the melded card leaves the battlefield, both cards go, and they each turn front face up again.

Cards with meld[edit | edit source]

There are three cards with meld in Eldritch Moon.[4]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (May 3, 2019—War of the Spark)

  • 701.36. Meld
    • 701.36a Meld is a keyword action that appears in an ability on one card in a meld pair. (See rule 712, “Meld Cards.”) To meld the two cards in a meld pair, put them onto the battlefield with their back faces up and combined. The resulting permanent is a single object represented by two cards.
    • 701.36b Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. Tokens, cards that aren’t meld cards, or meld cards that don’t form a meld pair can’t be melded.
    • 701.36c If an effect instructs a player to meld cards that can’t be melded, they stay in their current zone.

      Example: A player owns and controls Midnight Scavengers and a token that’s a copy of Graf Rats. At the beginning of combat, both are exiled but can’t be melded. Midnight Scavengers remains exiled and the exiled token ceases to exist.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (May 3, 2019—War of the Spark)

Meld
To turn two members of a meld pair so their back faces are up and combined into one oversized Magic card. See rule 701.36, “Meld.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Although meld cards look similar to double-faced cards, they are not considered to be double-faced cards. They don't transform—instead, their back faces combine in pairs to form a single oversized card face.
  • One card in each pair of meld cards has an ability that instructs you to exile the two cards and meld them. If you control more than one object with one of those names, you select one object with that name to exile.
  • When two cards are exiled and melded, they each leave the battlefield, then return together as one new untapped object with no relation to either of the objects that left the battlefield. Counters, Auras, Equipment, and other effects that affected those two cards don't affect the melded permanent.
  • Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. Tokens, cards that aren't meld cards, or meld cards that don't form a meld pair can't be melded. If an effect instructs a player to meld cards that can't be melded, those cards remain in exile.
  • While a meld card is anywhere other than the battlefield, or is on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
  • While a melded permanent is on the battlefield, it has only the characteristics of its combined back face. Any effects that modify how the new object enters the battlefield will consider only the combined back face.
  • The converted mana cost of a melded permanent is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. A creature that becomes a copy of a melded permanent has only the characteristics of that combined back face, and its converted mana cost is 0.
  • A player prompted to name a card may name the combined back face, and each player has the right to know that combined back face's characteristics at all times.
  • If an effect moves a melded permanent to a new zone and then affects "that card," it affects both cards.

Trivia[edit | edit source]

  • The meld mechanic is likely based upon themes of the Body Horror genre, which involve gruesome mutations occuring to the body whether by biological, conventional, or supernatural threats, such as The Thing, Hellraiser, the Tetsuo film series, and various Cronenberg films.
  • In the artwork of some cards with the Meld mechanic, Emrakul's tentacles can be seen in the background before their meld form takes place, possibly foreshadowing Emrakul corrupting those in her path.

See also[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wizards of the Coast (July 8, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (June 27, 2016). "Over the Moon, Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak (June 27, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Sam Stoddard (July 8, 2016). "Stop the World and Meld with You". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.