We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Living weapon

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Living Weapon
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Mirrodin Besieged
Last Used: Commander 2015
Reminder Text: Living weapon (When this Equipment enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 black Germ creature token, then attach this Equipment to it.)
Statistics: 10 cards
Artifact 100%
Gatherer search for "Living Weapon"

Living weapon is a keyword ability for equipment cards introduced in Mirrodin Besieged.[1][2][3] It was reused in New Phyrexia and the Commander series.

Description[edit | edit source]

When a card with Living weapon enters the battlefield, it puts a 0/0 black Germ creature token into play and attaches itself to it. [4] [5] [6] Thus Living weapons are themselves creatures until they die or their controller chooses to upgrade a different creature, with the detaching of the equipment and killing the Germ, as it is now a 0/0 creature. Due to state-based effects it is put into the graveyard and ceases to exist.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.91. Living Weapon
    • 702.91a Living weapon is a triggered ability. “Living weapon” means “When this Equipment enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 black Germ creature token, then attach this Equipment to it.”

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Living Weapon
A keyword ability that creates a creature token and then attaches the Equipment with the ability to that token. See rule 702.91, “Living Weapon.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Like other Equipment, each Equipment with living weapon has an equip cost. You can pay this cost to attach an Equipment to another creature you control. Once the Germ token is no longer equipped, it will be put into your graveyard, unless another effect raises its toughness above 0.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Flayer Husk - {1}
    Artifact — Equipment
    Living weapon (When this Equipment enters the battlefield, put a 0/0 black Germ creature token onto the battlefield, then attach this to it.)
    Equipped creature gets +1/+1.
    Equip {2} ({2}: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

Trivia[edit | edit source]

  • Living Weapon was featured as rules card 3 of 5 in the Mirrodin Besieged set and as rules card 2 of 4 in the New Phyrexia set.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (January 17, 2011.) “Under Besiege, Part 1”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (March 7, 2011.) “What Do You Do for a Living Weapon?”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Tom LaPille. (March 11, 2011.) “Confessions in an Armory”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Monty Ashley. (March 8, 2011.) “The Germ in Charge”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Doug Beyer. (March 9, 2011.) “Germ Warfare: The Flavor of Living Weapon”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Doug Beyer. (March 16, 2011.) “Six Secrets Behind the Sets”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]