Hi Gamepedia users and contributors! Please complete this survey to help us learn how to better meet your needs in the future. We have one for editors and readers. This should only take about 7 minutes!

Land

From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Land token)
Jump to: navigation, search
Land
Land symbol.svg
Card type
Subtype Land type
Statistics 674 cards
{G} 0.1% {land symbol} 99.9%
Scryfall Search
type:"Land"

Lands represent locations under the player's control, most of which can be used to generate mana.[1] Because mana is needed to use almost any card or ability, most decks need a high number of mana-producing lands (typically between 33-40% of the total deck) in order to function effectively.[2]

Playing lands[edit | edit source]

Lands are played on the player's own main phase, when the stack is empty, and only once per turn (though there are spells that can alter how many lands you can play a turn, like Exploration). Playing a land is not like playing a spell; it is a special action that does not use the stack, and does not require passing priority in order for it to resolve. When a player wants to play a land and has the opportunity, he or she simply puts it into play.[3][4] Likewise, the mana abilities of lands do not use the stack, and cannot be responded to. Although many lands generate specific colors of mana, lands are colorless on their own.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Land
A card type. A land is a permanent. See rule 305, “Lands.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 305. Lands
    • 305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 116). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
    • 305.2. A player can normally play one land during their turn; however, continuous effects may increase this number.
      • 305.2a To determine whether a player can play a land, compare the number of lands the player can play this turn with the number of lands they have already played this turn (including lands played as special actions and lands played during the resolution of spells and abilities). If the number of lands the player can play is greater, the play is legal.
      • 305.2b A player can’t play a land, for any reason, if the number of lands the player can play this turn is equal to or less than the number of lands they have already played this turn. Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
    • 305.3. A player can’t play a land, for any reason, if it isn’t their turn. Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
    • 305.4. Effects may also allow players to “put” lands onto the battlefield. This isn’t the same as “playing a land” and doesn’t count as a land played during the current turn.
    • 305.5. Land subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash. Land subtypes are also called land types. Lands may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3i for the complete list of land types.

      Example: “Basic Land — Mountain” means the card is a land with the subtype Mountain.

    • 305.6. The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words “basic land type,” it’s referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability “{T}: Add [mana symbol],” even if the text box doesn’t actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is {W}; for Islands, {U}; for Swamps, {B}; for Mountains, {R}; and for Forests, {G}. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, “Mana Abilities.”
    • 305.7. If an effect sets a land’s subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text, its old land types, and any copy effects affecting that land, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn’t remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Setting a land’s subtype doesn’t add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.
    • 305.8. Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land, even if it has a basic land type.
    • 305.9. If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played only as a land. It can’t be cast as a spell.

Subtypes[edit | edit source]

The subtype for lands is called land type and is exclusive to lands.

Rarity: Land[edit | edit source]

Basic lands in particular can have an "L" instead of a "C" below the textbox. This denotes land rarity, which essentially functions identical as common rarity.

Gatherer only lists the 5 basic lands, the 5 snow-covered lands and the 3 Urza lands, when searching for the rarity "land".

Friendly to lands[edit | edit source]

Green is the color that loves lands the most, but every color loves its own basic land type.[5]

Play extra lands

These effects are not found often, but they are also both in green's slice of the color pie.[5]

Lands matter[edit | edit source]

"Lands matter" is a major mechanical focus of the Zendikar block and the Battle for Zendikar block. Two keywords that play into "lands matter" are Landfall and Awaken.

Land tokens[edit | edit source]

The creation of basic land tokens is a mechanic that appears on test cards in the Mystery Booster set (Generated Horizons). However, it was earlier stated that land tokens are a failed experiment.[6] They are tricky because you’re constantly tapping them and the opponent has to monitor the tapped state.[7]

Token Color Type P/T Additional Rules Source Printings
Forest Colorless Land — Forest ({T}: Add {G}.)
Subtypeless
named Wastes
Colorless Land ({T}: Add {C}.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Sam Stoddard (October 9, 2015). "The Power of Lands". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Gavin Verhey (April 16, 2019). "Lands Are a Blast". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Gavin Verhey (September 27, 2017). "Real Estate Management 101". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Gavin Verhey (October 11, 2018). "Do(n't) Play Lands". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  5. a b Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Mark Rosewater (March 17, 2018). "Have you guys ever considered basic land tokens?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
  7. Mark Rosewater (April 24, 2018). "Would there ever be a possibility of enchantment or land tokens?". Blogatog. Tumblr.