Land changer

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Land changers are effects or spells that change a land card's land type. Changing lands (Target land becomes the basic land of your choice.) nowadays is primarily a blue ability. It allows blue a way to get access to other colors in multicolor environments.[1]

Description[edit | edit source]

Note that the land type-changing effects are not the same as the subtype of text-changing effects.

Changing a permanent's land subtypes is special in two ways:

  • Unless the effect adds the type "in addition to its other types", not only does it lose all other land types, it also loses all abilities generated by its text and copy effects. For example, an animated Blinkmoth Nexus that "is a Forest" can't tap for {C}, but it still has flying, because that ability was given to it by an effect. On the other hand, a Darksteel Citadel that "is an Island" no longer has indestructible.
  • Notwithstanding the above, any land with a basic land type has the mana ability appropriate for the type (unless an effect removes it). For example, if a Gruul Guildgate becomes a Forest, it has "{T}: Add {G}." (but it can't tap for {R}, because it lost that ability).

Examples[edit | edit source]

Change to Plains[edit | edit source]

Creature

Enchantment

Change to Island[edit | edit source]

Artifact

Creature

Enchantment

Sorcery

Change to Swamp[edit | edit source]

Artifact

Creature

Enchantment

Instant

  • Nightcreep (all lands; also all creatures become black)

Land

Change to Mountain[edit | edit source]

Creature

Enchantment

Change to Forest[edit | edit source]

Creature

Enchantment

Change to the basic land type of your choice[edit | edit source]

Artifact

Creature

Enchantment

Instant

Land

Change to all basic land types[edit | edit source]

Enchantment

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (September 25, 2020—Zendikar Rising)

  • 305. Lands
    • 305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 116). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
    • 305.2. A player can normally play one land during their turn; however, continuous effects may increase this number.
      • 305.2a To determine whether a player can play a land, compare the number of lands the player can play this turn with the number of lands they have already played this turn (including lands played as special actions and lands played during the resolution of spells and abilities). If the number of lands the player can play is greater, the play is legal.
      • 305.2b A player can’t play a land, for any reason, if the number of lands the player can play this turn is equal to or less than the number of lands they have already played this turn. Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
    • 305.3. A player can’t play a land, for any reason, if it isn’t their turn. Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
    • 305.4. Effects may also allow players to “put” lands onto the battlefield. This isn’t the same as “playing a land” and doesn’t count as a land played during the current turn.
    • 305.5. Land subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash. Land subtypes are also called land types. Lands may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3i for the complete list of land types.

      Example: “Basic Land — Mountain” means the card is a land with the subtype Mountain.

    • 305.6. The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words “basic land type,” it’s referring to one of these subtypes. An object with the land card type and a basic land type has the intrinsic ability “{T}: Add [mana symbol],” even if the text box doesn’t actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is {W}; for Islands, {U}; for Swamps, {B}; for Mountains, {R}; and for Forests, {G}. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, “Mana Abilities.”
    • 305.7. If an effect sets a land’s subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text, its old land types, and any copy effects affecting that land, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn’t remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Setting a land’s subtype doesn’t add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.
    • 305.8. Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land, even if it has a basic land type.
    • 305.9. If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played only as a land. It can’t be cast as a spell.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.