Kicker

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Kicker/Multikicker
Type: Static
Introduced: Invasion
Last Used: Worldwake
Reminder Text: Kicker (cost) (You may pay an additional (cost) as you cast this spell.)
Multikicker (cost) (You may pay an additional (cost) any number of times as you cast this spell.)
Storm Scale: 4/5[1]
Statistics: 113 cards
{G}24% {R}23% {U}15% {W}15% {B}12%
Artifact 1%, Multicolor 1%
Gatherer search for "Kicker"
Gatherer search for "Multikicker"

Kicker is a keyword ability that allows the player to pay an optional cost when playing a spell to achieve an additional effect.[2]

Most tournament-legal cards with kicker were printed during Invasion block. In this block the five-colored Coalition Symbol, or at least part of it, is buried in the art of most cards with the kicker ability.[3][4] Kicker was brought back in the Time Spiral [5][6] and Zendikar [7] blocks.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2017 (August 25, 2017))

  • 702.32. Kicker
    • 702.32a Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell with kicker is on the stack. “Kicker [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell.” Paying a spell’s kicker cost(s) follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
    • 702.32b The phrase “Kicker [cost 1] and/or [cost 2]” means the same thing as “Kicker [cost 1], kicker [cost 2].”
    • 702.32c Multikicker is a variant of the kicker ability. “Multikicker [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] any number of times as you cast this spell.” A multikicker cost is a kicker cost.
    • 702.32d If a spell’s controller declares the intention to pay any of that spell’s kicker costs, that spell has been “kicked.” If a spell has two kicker costs or has multikicker, it may be kicked multiple times. See rule 601.2b.
    • 702.32e Objects with kicker or multikicker have additional abilities that specify what happens if they are kicked. These abilities are linked to the kicker or multikicker abilities printed on that object: they can refer only to those specific kicker or multikicker abilities. See rule 607, “Linked Abilities.”
    • 702.32f Objects with more than one kicker cost have abilities that each correspond to a specific kicker cost. They contain the phrases “if it was kicked with its [A] kicker” and “if it was kicked with its [B] kicker,” where A and B are the first and second kicker costs listed on the card, respectively. Each of those abilities is linked to the appropriate kicker ability.
    • 702.32g If part of a spell’s ability has its effect only if that spell was kicked, and that part of the ability includes any targets, the spell’s controller chooses those targets only if that spell was kicked. Otherwise, the spell is cast as if it did not have those targets. See rule 601.2c.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2017 (August 25, 2017))

Kicker, Kicked
Kicker is a keyword ability that represents an optional additional cost. A spell has been kicked if its controller declared the intention to pay any or all of its kicker costs. See rule 702.32, “Kicker.”

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Commander 2017 (August 25, 2017))

Multikicker
Multikicker is a variant of the kicker keyword ability. It represents an optional additional cost that may be paid any number of times. See rule 702.32, “Kicker.” See also Kicker.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You kick a spell as you cast it. You declare whether you're going to pay a kicker cost at the same time you'd choose a spell's mode, and then you actually pay it at the same time you pay the spell's mana cost. Kicking a spell is always optional.
  • You can pay any particular kicker cost only once, unless the card says "multikicker" instead of kicker. You can't pay it multiple times to "pump up" the effect if it is not multikicker.
  • Some instant and sorcery spells have an additional effect if they were kicked. Other instant and sorcery spells have a different effect if they were kicked. Read these cards carefully: If they include the word "instead," the second effect replaces the first. If they don't include the word "instead," both the first and second effects occur.
  • Some permanents with kicker enter the battlefield with counters on them if they were kicked. Other permanents with kicker have "enters the battlefield" triggered abilities that check whether they were kicked. These look at whether they were kicked when cast as a spell. If not, the ability doesn't trigger at all. If such a permanent is put onto the battlefield as the result of a spell or ability, there's no opportunity to kick them.
  • If a permanent has a targeted "enters the battlefield" ability that triggers if it was kicked, the target isn't chosen until the permanent enters the battlefield and the ability triggers (as opposed to when that permanent was cast). That means that sometimes you may wind up targeting something you don't want to. For example, say you cast a kicked Heartstabber Mosquito, which has the ability "When Heartstabber Mosquito enters the battlefield, if it was kicked, destroy target creature." In response to the Heartstabber Mosquito spell, your opponent sacrifices his or her only creature. When the Mosquito enters the battlefield, its ability triggers, and you must choose a target for it. If no one else controls any creatures, you must target one of your own—possibly Heartstabber Mosquito itself.
  • Kicker costs don't change a spell's mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • If a kicked spell is copied, the copy is also kicked.
  • Older cards with kicker were printed with abilities that had the text "if you paid the kicker cost" or "if its kicker cost was paid." Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference so they now say "if it was kicked." The cards work the same way they always did; these abilities have their effects if the player decided to pay the kicker cost, not necessarily if the listed cost was actually paid.

Multikicker[edit | edit source]

Multikicker, introduced in Worldwake is a variant on Kicker. Multikicker functions exactly the same as Kicker, except that the Multikicker cost can be paid multiple times and the effect generated from it is duplicated for each time the cost is paid.[8]

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Heartstabber Mosquito - {3}{B}
    Creature — Insect
    2/2
    Kicker {2}{B} (You may pay an additional {2}{B} as you cast this spell.)
    Flying
    When Heartstabber Mosquito enters the battlefield, if it was kicked, destroy target creature.
  • Skitter of Lizards - {R}
    Creature — Lizard
    1/1
    Multikicker {1}{R} (You may pay an additional {1}{R} any number of times as you cast this spell.)
    Haste
    Skitter of Lizards enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each time it was kicked.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Aaron Forsythe. (June 15, 2007.) “The Magnificence of Kicker”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Magic Arcana. (February 14, 2002.) “Kicker - sacrifice land”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Magic Arcana. (March 17, 2003.) “Colorless kicker”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (June 11, 2007.) “Here’s the Kicker”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Magic Arcana. (June 12, 2007.) “Green, King of Kicker”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  7. Mark Rosewater. (September 21, 2009.) “Achieving Zendikar, Part III”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  8. Mark Rosewater. (January 25, 2010.) “A Multikick in the Seat of the Pants”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]