We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Interrupt

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Interrupt is an obsolete card type.[1] It has not been supported by the game since Sixth Edition.

Under the original rules, an interrupt was a spell that would resolve before the rest of the Batch. Some examples of interrupts include Counterspell, Red Elemental Blast and Dark Ritual. All Interrupt cards have received errata to make them instants, and all references to Interrupts have been given errata to reference instants.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Interrupt (Obsolete)
An obsolete card type. All cards printed with this card type are now instants. All abilities that, as printed, said a player could “play as an interrupt” can now be activated like any other activated abilities (unless they’re mana abilities, in which case they follow those rules instead). All relevant cards have been given errata in the Oracle card reference.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Magic Arcana. (January 04, 2005.) “Interrupts that Target Permanents?”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.