Ingest

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ingest
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered‎
Introduced Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎
Last Used Battle for Zendikar‎
Reminder Text Ingest (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library)
Storm Scale 9[1]
Statistics 9 cards
{U} 44.4% {B} 33.3% {R} 11.1% {U/B} 11.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Ingest"

Ingest is a keyword ability that triggers when a creature with ingest deals combat damage to a player. That player exiles the top card of their library.[2][3]

Description[edit | edit source]

Ingest was introduced in Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎, as a preview for Battle for Zendikar‎. Ingest is linked to Ulamog's lineage.[4]

On its own, Ingest has little impact on the game as a whole. However, Battle for Zendikar brought with it the mechanically linked creature type of Processor, Eldrazi that have abilities that use exiled cards of the opponents' as fuel. While Eldrazi-flavored interactive spells all exile, most of them are high-level picks for draft, so having small, replaceable creatures that can exile cards supports the draft archetype and mechanic. Both Processors and Ingestors are primarily blue and black.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 3, 2020—Core Set 2021)

Ingest
A keyword ability that can exile the top card of a player’s library. See rule 702.114, “Ingest.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 3, 2020—Core Set 2021)

  • 702.114. Ingest
    • 702.114a Ingest is a triggered ability. “Ingest” means “Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library.”
    • 702.114b If a creature has multiple instances of ingest, each triggers separately.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The card is exiled face up.[5]
  • If the player has no cards in their library when the ingest ability resolves, nothing happens. That player won't lose the game (until they have to draw a card from an empty library).

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Dominator Drone {2}{B}
Creature — Eldrazi Drone
3/2
Devoid (This card has no color.)
Ingest (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library.)
When Dominator Drone enters the battlefield, if you control another colorless creature, each opponent loses 2 life.

References[edit | edit source]