Ingest

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ingest
Type: Triggered‎
Introduced: Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎
Last Used: Battle for Zendikar‎
Reminder Text: Ingest (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of his or her library)
Storm Scale: 9[1]
Statistics: 9 cards
{U}44% {B}33% {R}11%
Multicolor 11%
Gatherer search for "Ingest"

Ingest is a keyword ability that triggers when a creature with ingest deals combat damage to a player. That player exiles the top card of his or her library. [2] [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

Ingest was introduced in Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎, as a preview for Battle for Zendikar‎. Ingest is linked to Ulamog's lineage. [4]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.114. Ingest
    • 702.114a Ingest is a triggered ability. “Ingest” means “Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of his or her library.”
    • 702.114b If a creature has multiple instances of ingest, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Ingest
A keyword ability that can exile the top card of a player’s library. See rule 702.114, “Ingest.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The card is exiled face up. [5]
  • If the player has no cards in his or her library when the ingest ability resolves, nothing happens. That player won't lose the game (until he or she has to draw a card from an empty library).

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Dominator Drone - {2}{B}
    Creature — Eldrazi Drone
    3/2
    Devoid (This card has no color.)
    Ingest (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of his or her library.)
    When Dominator Drone enters the battlefield, if you control another colorless creature, each opponent loses 2 life.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak. (August 31, 2015.) “Battle for Zendikar Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Sam Stoddard. (September 18, 2015.) “Developing New Mechanics in a Returning World”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (February 1, 2016.) “Odds and Ends: Oath of the Gatewatch, Part 1”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Wizards of the Coast. (September 23, 2015.) “Battle for Zendikar Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.