Improvise

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Improvise
Type: Static
Introduced: Aether Revolt
Last Used: Aether Revolt
Reminder Text: Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)
Statistics:
Gatherer search for "Improvise"

Improvise is a keyword ability introduced in Aether Revolt. It is similar to Convoke, but uses artifacts instead of creatures. It allows a player to tap artifacts rather than pay some of the mana cost of a spell. Each artifact tapped after activating mana abilities pays for {1}. Improvise is a fixed affinity for artifacts.[1][2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.125. Improvise
    • 702.125a Improvise is a static ability that functions while the spell with improvise is on the stack. “Improvise” means “For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped artifact you control rather than pay that mana.”
    • 702.125b The improvise ability isn’t an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with improvise is determined.
    • 702.125c Multiple instances of improvise on the same spell are redundant.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Improvise
A keyword ability that lets you tap artifacts rather than pay mana to cast a spell. See rule 702.125, “Improvise.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.[3]
  • When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • Because improvise isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • Improvise can’t pay for W, U, B, R, G, or C mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • You can use artifacts with summoning sickness.
  • Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays 3.”
  • If an artifact you control has a mana ability with T in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • When using improvise to cast a spell with X in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap artifacts you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Whir of Invention (a spell with improvise and mana cost XUUU) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is 3UUU. If you tap two artifacts, you’ll have to pay 1UUU.
  • Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Battle at the Bridge - {X}{B} Sorcery
    Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)
    Target creature gets -X/-X until end of turn. You gain X life.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (January 2, 2017.) “A Revolting Development (and Design), Part 1”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak. (January 2, 2017.) “Aether Revolt Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Wizards of the Coast. (January 6, 2017.) “Aether Revolt Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.