We are currently performing an upgrade to our software. This upgrade will bring MediaWiki from version 1.31 to 1.33. While the upgrade is being performed on your wiki it will be in read-only mode. For more information check here.
|Introduced||Ravnica: City of Guilds|
|Last Used||Modern Horizons|
|Reminder Text||Dredge N (If you would draw a card, instead you may put exactly N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard. If you do, return this card from your graveyard to your hand. Otherwise, draw a card.)|
35.7% 7.1% 35.7% 14.3% 7.1%
Description[edit | edit source]
Dredge is a mechanic of recursive nature, where the owner of a card in a graveyard with said ability can return the card to their hand by choosing to skip his or her draw and put a number of cards from his or her library into his or her graveyard. The actual number of cards that must be put into a graveyard is written on each card with dredge. Dredge only appears on green and/or black cards with the exception of the land Dakmor Salvage from the Future Sight keyword land cycle and the card Shenanigans from Modern Horizons.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that lets a player return a card from their graveyard to their hand. See rule 702.51, “Dredge.”
- 702.51. Dredge
- 702.51a Dredge is a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player’s graveyard. “Dredge N” means “As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead put N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard and return this card from your graveyard to your hand.”
- 702.51b A player with fewer cards in their library than the number required by a dredge ability can’t put any of them into their graveyard this way.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Dredge lets you replace any card draw, not just the one during your draw step.
- Once you decide to replace a draw using a card's dredge ability, that card can't be removed from your graveyard "in response" (replacement effects don't use the stack).
- You can't use dredge unless you're going to draw a card and the card with dredge is already in your graveyard.
Competitive play[edit | edit source]
Ichorid[edit | edit source]
One of the most popular uses of dredge is to use it to quickly fill your graveyard. A famous deck based on Ichorid originated from this concept. Such decks work best with cards with high dredge values, such as Golgari Grave-Troll and Stinkweed Imp. The Extended Friggorid deck was a common deck archetype built around this mechanic.
Life from the Loam[edit | edit source]
The dredge card Life from the Loam has since its release found widespread tournament use fueling a wide array of decks. Life from the Loam works as an engine producing additional targets for itself when dredging. In combination with Onslaught cycling lands it is regrowable at instant speed and Onslaught Fetch lands it gives color stability. It was also widely used to regrow other utility lands like Wasteland and Cephalid Coliseum. The card has been widely used to fuel cards requiring discard and specifically discard of lands such as Solitary Confinement, Seismic Assault and Retrace cards such as Raven's Crime.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Plant Hound
Dredge 3 (If you would draw a card, instead you may put exactly three cards from the top of your library into your graveyard. If you do, return this card from your graveyard to your hand. Otherwise, draw a card.)
Trivia[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (May 2, 2016). "Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Aaron Forsythe (September 23, 2005). "Ravnica: Review and Preview". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Aaron Forsythe (October 28, 2005). "Golgari Query". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Magic Arcana (October 13, 2005). "Double Darkblastin' with Dredge". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.