We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.
|Last Used:||Future Sight|
|Typical Text:||Hellbent — …, as long as you have no cards in hand.|
|Statistics:|| 18 cards|
44 % 28 % 22 % Land 6 %
|Gatherer search for "Hellbent"|
Hellbent is an ability word that indicates that a card is better if its controller has no cards in his or her hand. Introduced in Dissension, it is found only on cards in that set aligned with the Cult of Rakdos guild (black and/or red). Hellbent is also used in the set Future Sight.
Hellbent can be many things, but the common thing is that it is active when the controller of the card with hellbent has no cards in his or her hand. It's written "Hellbent -- static ability, self-replacement, activated ability and/or triggered ability.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- If a hellbent ability of a spell or permanent is a static ability, the number of cards in its controller's hand is continually checked.
- If a hellbent ability of a spell is a self-replacement that changes the effect of that spell, the number of cards in its controller's hand is checked as the spell resolves. It is not checked when the spell is played.
- If a hellbent ability of a permanent is an activated ability, the number of cards in the permanent's controller's hand is checked when that player tries to play the ability. It is not checked when the ability resolves.
- If a hellbent ability of a permanent is a triggered ability, the number of cards in the permanent's controller's hand is checked both when that ability would trigger and when that ability would resolve. If the player has one or more cards in his or her hand when the ability would trigger, it won't trigger. If the player has one or more cards in his or her hand when the ability would resolve, the ability does nothing.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Heckbent[edit | edit source]
An unnamed mechanic R&D likes to call "heckbent," is a riff off of hellbent. Heckbent cares about you having one or fewer cards in your hand (as opposed to hellbent, which requires your hand to be empty). If you do, your cards gain extra abilities that make either themselves or others better.
The ability is a black-red mini-theme in Amonkhet.