|Reminder Text:||Haunt (When this creature dies, exile it haunting target creature.)|
|Statistics:|| 10 cards|
40% 40% 20%
|Gatherer search for "Haunt"|
Description[edit | edit source]
Haunt works by allowing a permanent's "come into play"-ability (CIP) or a spell to go off twice. More precisely, it allows a card to be removed from a graveyard "haunting" another permanent, and when that permanent is put into a graveyard a triggered ability of the haunting card is put on the stack and allows a second usage of the card. Haunt appears only on black and/or white cards.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- If an instant or sorcery spell with haunt is countered, its haunt ability doesn't trigger.
- Instants and sorceries with haunt have the same effect when they're played as when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard. Creatures with haunt have the same effect when they come into play as when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard.
- You may haunt any creature in play, regardless of who controls it.
- The same creature may be haunted by multiple cards.
- The cards that are haunting a creature don't return from the removed-from-the-game zone when that creature leaves play.
- If there are no legal targets for the haunt ability, the card with haunt stays in the graveyard rather than being removed from the game.
- If a card with haunt is removed from the graveyard in response to its haunt ability triggering, the haunt ability will resolve. But since the card can't be removed from the game, it won't haunt the target creature.
- The same applies for a token creature with haunt or a copy of an instant or sorcery spell with haunt. The haunt ability will trigger and target a creature in play, but the token or spell copy will have vanished from the graveyard by the time the ability resolves. It can't be removed from the game and won't haunt the targeted creature.
- If a card that's haunting a creature leaves the exiled zone, due to Pull from Eternity, for example, the haunt effect ends.
- The source of an ability that triggers when a haunted creature is put into a graveyard is the card with haunt in the removed-from-the-game zone. The ability is controlled by the owner of that card.
- If a creature with haunt controlled by Player A but owned by Player B is put into a graveyard, Player A controls the haunt triggered ability. That player chooses the target for the haunt ability and must remove the card from the game. However, when the haunted creature is put into a graveyard, Player B will control the triggered ability of the card in the removed-from-the-game zone and will make any choices it requires.
Examples[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater. (May 2, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Aaron Forsythe. (January 13, 2006.) “Haunting Your Dreams”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Aaron Forsythe. (March 31, 2006.) “Losing My Religion”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater. (December 03, 2014.) "What is your opinion on a set themed around haunt?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater. (May 18, 2015.) “Modern Mailbag”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater. (August 27, 2017.) "I don't understand why Haunt is a 9 on the storm scale?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater. (August 27, 2017.) "What if you tried haunt again?", Blogatog, Tumblr.