Gravestorm

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Gravestorm
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Future Sight
Last Used Future Sight
Reminder Text Gravestorm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each permanent put into a graveyard this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)
Statistics 1 card
{B} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Gravestorm"

Gravestorm is a triggered keyword ability. It's similar to storm, except that instead of counting the number of spells casted that turn, it counts the number of permanents put into a graveyard from the battlefield that turn. Gravestorm was introduced in Future Sight and has only been printed on one card so far, the timeshifted Bitter Ordeal. According to Mark Rosewater, it is unlikely to be reused.[1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

Gravestorm
A keyword ability that creates copies of a spell. See rule 702.68, “Gravestorm.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 702.68. Gravestorm
    • 702.68a Gravestorm is a triggered ability that functions on the stack. “Gravestorm” means “When you cast this spell, copy it for each permanent that was put into a graveyard from the battlefield this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies.”
    • 702.68b If a spell has multiple instances of gravestorm, each triggers separately.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Bitter Ordeal {2}{B}
Sorcery
Search target player's library for a card and exile it. Then that player shuffles their library.
Gravestorm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each permanent put into a graveyard this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (May 18, 2015). "Modern Mailbag". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.