From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ability Word
Introduced Future Sight
Last Used Future Sight
Typical Text Grandeur — Discard another card named CARDNAME: ...
Statistics 5 cards
{W}20% {U}20% {B}20% {R}20% {G}20%
Gatherer Search

Grandeur is an ability word that was introduced in Future Sight,[1] seen on a cycle of five legendary creatures in that set.

Description[edit | edit source]

Grandeur is an activated ability that is played by discarding a card with the same name as the card the ability appears on.

Mark Rosewater called the return of Grandeur unlikely, because of the popularity of the Commander format. The problem is it’s tied to legendary yet meaningless in the format (Commander) that cares most about that supertype.[2][3]

It has been discussed if Grandeur could be put on non-legendary creatures.[4][5]

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The grandeur ability can be played only while the creature that has it is in play. To play the ability, a different card with the same name must be discarded.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Tarox Bladewing - {2}{R}{R}{R}
    Legendary Creature — Dragon
    Flying, haste
    Grandeur — Discard another card named Tarox Bladewing: Tarox Bladewing gets +X/+X until end of turn, where X is its power.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Aaron Forsythe. (April 13, 2007.) “Grandeur, No Illusion”,, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (November 20, 2016.) "Where does the Grandeur mechanic fit on the Storm Scale?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  3. Mark Rosewater. (March 10, 2017.) "Is the Grandeur mechanic scrapped?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (March 10, 2017.) "Couldn't Grandeur just be put on a non-legendary creature?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (April 23, 2017.) "Couldn't you bring back new cards with Grandeur?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
Promotional Content