We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Graft

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Graft
Type: Static (1st ability)
Triggered (2nd ability)
Introduced: Dissension
Last Used: Future Sight
Reminder Text: Graft N (This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it. Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, if this permanent has a +1/+1 counter on it, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this permanent onto that creature.)
Storm Scale: 8[1]
Statistics: 13 cards
{G}54% {U}38% Land 8%
Gatherer search for "Graft"

Graft is a keyword ability, introduced in Dissension expansion, that is associated with the Simic guild, and works by allowing a creature with graft to move a +1/+1 counter from itself onto a creature that just came into play. Thus far, only creatures that are aligned with the Simic guild (green and/or blue) have graft. The only non-creature card with graft is Llanowar Reborn from Future Sight.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.57. Graft
    • 702.57a Graft represents both a static ability and a triggered ability. “Graft N” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it” and “Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, if this permanent has a +1/+1 counter on it, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this permanent onto that creature.”
    • 702.57b If a permanent has multiple instances of graft, each one works separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Graft
A keyword ability that has a permanent enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it and can move those counters to other creatures. See rule 702.57, “Graft.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • All creatures with graft in Dissension are 0/0 creatures. When the last +1/+1 counter is moved off of it, it will be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based effect unless some other effect is boosting its toughness.
  • Graft's triggered ability triggers each time a creature comes into play, regardless of who controls the new creature. A player may move a +1/+1 counter onto another player's creature this way.
  • When a creature comes into play, all graft abilities will trigger. The controllers of those abilities choose, one at a time as those abilities resolve, whether to move a counter. A creature that has just come into play may receive multiple +1/+1 counters this way.
  • Graft isn't targeted. The ability can move a counter onto an untargetable creature or a creature with protection from creatures.
  • The counter moved off a creature with graft as the graft ability resolves doesn't have to be one of the counters put on the card as a result of the graft ability. It can be any +1/+1 counter on it. No other types of counters may be moved this way.
  • If a permanent with graft isn't a creature when a new creature comes into play, the graft ability will still trigger and a +1/+1 counter may still be moved.
  • If a creature with graft and another creature come into play simultaneously, the graft ability will trigger. The ability's controller may move a +1/+1 counter onto the other creature.
  • Many creatures with graft also have an activated ability that targets a creature with a +1/+1 counter on it. In most cases, that means it can target itself. The target creature may have any number of +1/+1 counters on it. The target creature doesn't need to have graft.
  • If the target of such an activated ability loses all its +1/+1 counters before the ability resolves, the ability will be countered for having an illegal target. If the targeted creature loses all its +1/+1 counters after the ability resolves, it won't lose the bonus it was granted by the ability.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Helium Squirter - {4}{U}
    Creature — Beast Mutant
    0/0
    Graft 3 (This creature comes into play with three +1/+1 counters on it. Whenever another creature comes into play, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this creature onto it.)
    {1}: Target creature with a +1/+1 counter on it gains flying until end of turn.

Cards that contain the graft ability[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]