Goad

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Goad
Keyword Action
Introduced Conspiracy: Take the Crown
Last Used Commander 2019
Reminder Text Goad (Until your next turn, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than you if able.)
Statistics 8 cards
{U} 25% {R} 50% {M} 12.5% {artifact symbol} 12.5%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Goad"

Goad is a keyword action introduced in Conspiracy: Take the Crown that forces creatures to attack, preferably someone other than you. It was designed for multiplayer play.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

A goaded creature has to attack a player (not a planeswalker) other than you if it can. The controller of a goaded creature still chooses who the creature attacks. If it's tapped, then it can't attack. If there's a cost to attack, its controller doesn't have to pay that cost, and if he or she doesn't, the creature doesn't have to attack. A creature with defender still can't attack.

If the creature can't attack a player other than you, then it must attack you or a planeswalker if it can. This is most likely when the game is down to two players.

A goaded creature remains goaded until your next turn.

Goad was introduced in the Commander format with Commander 2017 's Disrupt Decorum.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Goad
A keyword action that forces a creature to attack and to attack another player if able. See rule 701.37, “Goad.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 701.37. Goad
    • 701.37a Certain spells and abilities can goad a creature. Until the next turn of the controller of that spell or ability, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than that player if able.
    • 701.37b A static ability may state that a creature “is goaded.” That creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than the controller of the permanent with that static ability if able.
    • 701.37c Once a player has goaded a creature, the same player goading it again has no effect. It doesn’t create additional combat requirements.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Jeering Homunculus {1}{U}
Creature — Homunculus
0/4
When Jeering Homunculus enters the battlefield, you may goad target creature. (Until your next turn, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than you if able.)

References[edit | edit source]